About this Guide
This research guide provides an overview of the resources in the North Carolina Collection related to the history of Orange County. The call numbers for books and pamphlets or hyperlinks for online resources are provided after the citation. These call numbers are specific to the North Carolina Collection.
- General History - Resources on the history and culture of Orange County.
- Genealogy - Information on people and families of Orange County, as well as resources on land and vital records.
- Churches & Schools - Information on schools and churches of Orange County.
- Buildings & Maps - Information on maps and buildings of Orange County.
- Other Resources - Other resources related to Orange County, including newspapers and resources on neighboring counties.
Orange County was formed in 1752 and was named after William of Orange (also King William III of England). The boundaries have changed considerably since the 1750s, with Chatham, Caswell, and Alamance counties being entirely formed from Orange County and Johnston, Guilford, Wake, Lee, Person, Randolph, Rockingham, and Durham counties also including parts of the original Orange County. The current county boundaries date from 1881. The three major towns in the county are Carrboro, Chapel Hill, and Hillsborough, which is the county seat. In the latter half of the eighteenth century, Hillsborough was an important town in the political life of North Carolina and, for a short time, was the meeting place of the General Assembly. Since the founding of the University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill at the end of that century, the county has also played an important role in the intellectual life of the state.
This guide is based on one that was created by Marilyn Rackley in the Spring 2006, and was updated by Tyler Gilmore in the Spring 2013.
About Special Collections
The Wilson Special Collections Library is home to the University of North Carolina's North Carolina Collection, Rare Book Collection, Southern Folklife Collection, Southern Historical Collection, and University Archives and Records Management Services. The five special collections hold unique and rare books, organizational records, personal and family papers, photographs, moving images, sound recordings, and artifacts that document the history and culture of the University, the state, the region, the nation, and the world. The Wilson Library is free and open to the public.
North Carolina Collection