This is the "Home" page of the "PLCY 080: Innovation, Entrepreneurship, and Economic Growth" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PLCY 080: Innovation, Entrepreneurship, and Economic Growth  

Last Updated: Feb 27, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/plcy080 Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Davis Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
 

Writing and Citing Resources

Scholarly articles

Google Scholar - enables you to search for peer-reviewed articles across a wide range of disciplines.

Articles+ - similar to Google Scholar, but with more content.

More databases - a list of databases by subject area.

 

Economic and Demographic Data

State and County QuickFacts (Census Bureau) - a great place for quick overviews. Choose a state to dig down further into this geography. Click on "Browse Data Sets for North Carolina to find economic characteristics.

County Business Patterns (Census Bureau) - industry information including number of establishments, payroll and number of employees; 1993 onwards; county information is suppressed when an individual business could be identified; search the library catalog for historical data.

Industry & Local Business Statistics - one-page reports that provide selected statistics about industries and local business communities.

LED's Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI) (Census Bureau) - for metro areas only; detailed analysis by age, sex, new hires vs. more experienced workers, earnings, etc.; history varies by state's participation.

Statistical Abstract of the United States - provides historical economic and demographic information

 

Company Information

ReferenceUSA - information on individual businesses, including size of business by sales and number of employees; no history.

NetAdvantage - a comprehensive source of information and analysis on companies including financials and market trends.

Hoover's Online - provides comprehensive company profiles which contain company overviews and histories, including some coverage of private companies.

 

Industry Information

BizMiner
Provides detailed industry analysis and market research reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets.

Business Source Complete
Provides full-text business journals and hundreds of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals covering all aspects of business. Includes industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Many of the reports are published by Datamonitor.

Freedonia Focus
Reports provide insights into over eighteen industry categories through over 700 market research reports.

Frost & Sullivan
Offers current, full-text, technical reports, economic reports, and market analyses on emerging high-technology and industrial markets in 50 countries. Reports are from primary and secondary research from 1998 to present with many current reports available.

IBISWorld Industry Research
A comprehensive source of information and analysis on industries. 

NetAdvantage
A comprehensive, professional source of investment information and analysis on industries and companies. Includes S&P's Industry Surveys and Global Industry Surveys, with peer company data and key ratios in Excel downloadable format.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Josiah Drewry
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
(919) 962-3694 (Direct line)
(919) 962-1151 (Davis R&IS)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip