Public Health: Core Tools

Created by Health Science Librarians

Ask HSL

Announcing Public Health Librarian Office Hours

Meet with a librarian for research help!

Tuesdays, 2-4pm

MHRC Atrium

No appointment necessary

Search Databases

PubMed
Database of biomedical literature covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology, and public health.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1957-present
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Nursing and health sciences journals, books, dissertations, and conference proceedings with full text of many journals
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1982-present
Global Health
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
ProQuest Healthcare Administration Database
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
PsycInfo
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1887 - Present
Scopus
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

More databases

Find E-Journals

Other Useful Guides

Searching PubMed
by Elizabeth Moreton, MLS Last Updated Dec 19, 2023 5401 views this year
Health Data & Statistics
by Carrie Baldwin-SoRelle, MSLIS Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 432 views this year
Global Health
by Hannah Burrows Last Updated Feb 6, 2024 642 views this year
Designing Effective Posters
by Lynn Eades Last Updated Feb 21, 2024 14824 views this year
Test Instruments and Measures
by Elizabeth Moreton, MLS Last Updated Feb 6, 2024 284 views this year
Health of LGBTQIA+ Individuals
by Karen Grigg, MSLS, AHIP Last Updated Oct 16, 2023 285 views this year
Open Access and Scholarly Communications
by Sarah Towner Wright, MLS Last Updated Nov 21, 2023 815 views this year

Evidence Repositories

These sites provide collections of evidence-based public health interventions, programs, and practices. They are intended for public health workers, practitioners, and researchers.

Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development
The Blueprints mission is to identify outstanding violence and drug prevention programs that meet a scientific standard of effectiveness.
The Community Guide
A collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). Identifies evidence-based interventions to improve health and prevent disease in the U.S.
Evidence-Based Cancer Control Programs (EBCCP)
Searchable database of evidence-based cancer control programs for public health workers
Healthy People 2030’s Evidence-Based Resources
Evidence-based resources aligned with the Healthy People 2030 initiative, organized by topic.
National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)
Program repository for health department staff, including toolboxes, publications, and model practices.
NICE (UK National Institute for Health Care Excellence)
Evidence-based recommendations developed by independent committees, including professionals and lay members, and consulted on by stakeholders in the UK.
SAMHSA Evidence-based Practices Resource Center
Searchable database of interventions for mental health and substance use
Social Programs that Work
Social policy-focused programs with credible evidence from well-conducted RCTs of important effects on people’s lives
U.S. Preventative Services Task Force
The U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts that makes evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
What Works for Health | County Health Rankings
Tool to find policies and programs that are a good fit for a community's priorities from County Health Rankings.

Frequently used PH resources

Health Behavior by Karen Glanz (Editor); Barbara K. Rimer (Editor); K. Viswanath (Editor)
Call Number: HSL Reference W 85 H4342 2008 and Online
ISBN: 1118629051
Publication Date: 2015-07-01

Health behavior constructs
Provides definitions of major theoretical constructs employed in health behavior research, and information about the best measures of these constructs. Compiled by the National Cancer Institute.