This is the "Home" page of the "PWAD 690: Seminars in Peace, War, and Defense" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PWAD 690: Seminars in Peace, War, and Defense  

Last Updated: Mar 6, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/pwad690 Print Guide Email Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Davis Library Chat

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Books

 

UNC catalog search with Links

   

Advanced Search | New Books | Classic Catalog | Search TRLN | WorldCat

E-Research Tools

Academic Search Complete
Abstracts & references for articles from more than 1,500 scholarly, trade & general publications, & references from the NY Times. [more info]

Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP) 1990-present.
An index to military and aeronautical periodicals. Indexes a variety of English-language military and aeronautical periodicals, covering important articles, news stories, and editorials. Some links to the full text is included.

Congressional Research Service Reports: Nuclear Weapons and Related Topics 2002-present.
Produced by experts in the Library of Congress, these reports are succinct and updated frequently. Separate sections on China, Iran, and North Korea. Federation of American Scientists.

CQ Researcher
The CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people who need a place to begin research on current topics. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more. Browse By Topic: Defense and National Security. Do a Quick and/or Advanced Search. In results list, click on up-arrow in date column for latest. [more info]

Declassified Documents Reference System Online
This database enables users to examine documents originating from a wealth of U.S. government bodies and agencies, including Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Justice Department, National Security Agency, State Department, and the White House. [more info]

Digital National Security Archive
The most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. The resource now includes 36 collections consisting of over 80,000 meticulously indexed documents, with more than 500,000 total pages. Relevant collections include The Soviet Estimate: U.S. Analysis of the Soviet Union, 1947-1991. U.S. Intelligence on Wepons of Mass Destruction, World War II to Iraq. U.S. Nuclear History: Nuclear Arms and Politics in the Missile Age, 1956-1966. [more info]

Facts on International Relations and Security Trends
FIRST draws upon the factual database maintained by its project partners to create country profiles, including: Membership, agreements and events, conflicts and peace keeping activities, arms production and trade, military expenditure, weapons of mass destruction, armed forces and conventional weapon holdings, political system and country indicators, and other reference data. [more info]

Foreign Broadcast Information Service
Covers 1941-1996. Transcriptions and translations of radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories, many of which are first-hand reports of events as they occurred. More than 50 languages, from Arabic to Swahili, have been translated into English. This is continued, to the present, by World News Connection. Available in Davis Library only. Ask staff at Davis Reference Desk to enter the username and password for you.

JSTOR
JSTOR includes full text of scholarly journal literature in social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies. [more info]

Military and Government Collection
Indexes periodicals, academic journals, and pamphlets relevant to military studies. national defense and security, arms control, and weapons of mass destruction. [more info]

Nuclear Notebook
Articles from the Bulletin of Atomic Scientists, 1999-present

ProQuest Congressional
Comprehensive source of current and historical bills, hearings, and reports from the US Congress. Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text of publications from and about the United States Congress. and more. [More info]

Rand Publications Database
Full text of papers & reports of the RAND research organization on topics such as national security, international affairs, military-personnel, weapons, etc. [more info]

SIPRI Cooperative Articles Database
Articles on international relations, area studies and international security issues. From the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, and others. [more info]

Federal Agencies

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Doug Diesenhaus

Data Librarian

Profile Image
Michele Hayslett

Congress

Arms control and weapons technology are primarily the jurisdiction of the committees listed below. Committee publications include hearings, prints and reports. Recent hearings are full-text on the committee websites. Print and electronic copies of committee publications are listed in the Davis Library online catalog.

  • Senate Foreign Relations
    • Hearings. Searchable, by world region, topic such as arms control, nuclear weapons; some hearings Top Secret/Closed.
    • Reports. Searchable. Reports on hearings and pending legislation.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip