Classic Mexican Cinema Online is a collection of film catalogs, arts magazines, and other rare ephemera related to Mexican cinema from its beginnings in the late 1890s to its Golden Age (1930s to 1960).
The sources in this collection, heretofore only accessible in the archives of the Filmoteca de la UNAM in Mexico City, are an invaluable resource for research in film and media studies, Latin American studies, and for studying the historical, social, and political impact of cinema.
HAPI Online is the searchable Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. (Source: vendor website.)
The International Medieval Bibliography has been produced in print form since 1968 by the International Medieval Institute (University of Leeds). Coverage is drawn from over 4,000 periodicals as well as from miscellaneous collections of conference proceedings, essay collections, and Festschriften.
Please click on the 'Enter Databases' link. Then select 'International Medieval Bibliography - Online'.
Areas of study include: phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, and various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Over 1,500 journals are indexed, as are books, book chapters, and dissertations.
It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, thousands of plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, over 100,000 author biographies, several thousand author portraits, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
This site is a portal providing free access to full-text articles published in 164 different Latin American and Caribbean journals covering a variety of topics in the areas of science and technology, social sciences, and humanities.
It contains scores of journals in all subjects published in Latin America and Spain. This archive includes complete electronic editions of print titles from the 1990s onward. You can search by author, title word, subject, institutional affiliations, or year; you also can limit searching by country of origin, subject category, or journal title.
Over its long and distinguished history, SUR featured the writings of the leading figures in literature, philosophy, history and the plastic arts not only from Latin America, but also from North America and Western Europe. The edition includes images of the complete magazine, including covers, photographs and advertisements (50,000 pages), and a set of images of manuscripts from the first issue as well as an unpublished set of letters by Victoria Ocampo.
Academic Search Premier provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.
UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. A moving end-date wall excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
UNC patrons also have access to the current files of subscribed e-journals. You can search the database by journal title, subject categories, author, or keywords in the text as well as limit your search by date, subject category, or type, e. g., article or review. You also have the ability to print or download in TIFF (Tagged Image File Format) as well as PDF and PostScript formats.
Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. (From vendor site).
With over 2.1 million articles, PAO offers institutions a virtual library and a permanent archive of retrospective journals in these disciplines. Some 20 percent of the 707 journals are in non-English languages. A new platform and faster search engine provide powerful and easy searching across the vast content. Searchable full-text with hit term highlighting is featured in all collections, making it easy to find keyword search terms across large numbers of pages. Sophisticated post-search results filtering and sorting enhance the user's ability to get to the right results quickly. Links to JSTOR and Project Muse are available. The My Archive feature allows every user to save searches, save records, and take notes between sessions, creating his or her own research area. Enhanced functionality includes free MARC records, Z39.50 support for federated searching, OpenURL compliancy, citation software support, and COUNTER-compliant usage statistics.
Citations for dissertations from 1980 on include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 forward have 150 word abstracts.The database covers work done at more than a thousand institutions, primarily in the United States but also in Canada and Great Britain, and at other European universities for recent years.In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library.