Developed and maintained by the Bibliotheque Nacional de France, Gallica provides access to over one million items, including books, manuscripts, scores, audio files, and more. While Gallica is not exclusively dedicated to Medieval and Early Modern works, it maintains a very strong collection in this time period. The interface is accessible in both English and French.
There are more than sixty partner institutions in Hathi Trust worldwide. This archive includes both serial and monograph publications from various times and in multiple languages. Not all titles are linked from the catalog or WorldCat. Some materials are available full-text and some materials, particularly those still protected by copyright, are not. Some titles not available in Hathi Trust may be available through other institutions or may be freely available elsewhere on the web.
To download full PDFs of public domain & open access items: Click 'Login' and then select University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill as the HathiTrust Partner Institution. Then enter your Onyen/Password on the resulting page, before being returned to the HathiTrust site.
JSTOR provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences.
UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. A moving end-date wall excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
UNC patrons also have access to the current files of subscribed e-journals. You can search the database by journal title, subject categories, author, or keywords in the text as well as limit your search by date, subject category, or type, e. g., article or review. You also have the ability to print or download in TIFF (Tagged Image File Format) as well as PDF and PostScript formats.
Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. (From vendor site).
See ARTstor’s complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library’s ARTstor guide.
These are full-text databases provide general coverage of issues relating to Romance Language studies.
MLA International Bibliography is produced by the Modern Language Association. Index to articles in literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, and bibliographies.
Specifically, the focus of the database is literature and language, history, social sciences, religion, and arts. Publications from some of Italy's standard and scholarly publishers feature in this collection, including Bulzoni, Cadmo, Longo, Olschki, and many others. There is an English interface. Retrieved documents appear as pdf files. The backfiles of journals generally begin in 2000.
• Information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
• Provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Academic Search Premier provides information from a wide range of academic areas including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics.
It employs a powerful search engine combined with a user-friendly interface to enable retrieval of detailed archival collection descriptions (bibliographic records and full finding aids). ArchiveGrid allows users to discover information about primary source materials - both personal papers and corporate records - faster and easier than is possible in general search engines on the web, eliminating, the need to sort through inappropriate results and presenting a consolidated hit list that clearly indicates in which repository materials are held.
This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints. Free-text searching and complete indexing makes Ethnic NewsWatch easy to search. Publishers retain original copyright. For reprint information beyond fair use, contact individual publisher(s). Click on the publication logo to learn more about a publication.
Over 11,000 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 1.7 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion of the periodicals published on the European continent. The search interface is in English. The print counterpart is Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur; earlier titles exist from 1896. (Source: vendor website.)
The International Medieval Bibliography has been produced in print form since 1968 by the International Medieval Institute (University of Leeds). Coverage is drawn from over 4,000 periodicals as well as from miscellaneous collections of conference proceedings, essay collections, and Festschriften.
Please click on the 'Enter Databases' link. Then select 'International Medieval Bibliography - Online'.
LexisNexis Academic is a web-based service that provides access to most of the information formerly available on the LexisNexis Educational Program (approximately 75% of the titles). It covers general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many of the files are full-text. LexisNexis Academic is a service of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, thousands of plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, over 100,000 author biographies, several thousand author portraits, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
Language learning software database to supplement your coursework, maintain and improve your language skills, or just learn a new language in a fun way; includes a virtual tutor and language learning through movies, poetry and music.