Citations for dissertations from 1980 on include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 forward have 150 word abstracts.The database covers work done at more than a thousand institutions, primarily in the United States but also in Canada and Great Britain, and at other European universities for recent years.In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library.
UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. A moving end-date wall excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
UNC patrons also have access to the current files of subscribed e-journals. You can search the database by journal title, subject categories, author, or keywords in the text as well as limit your search by date, subject category, or type, e. g., article or review. You also have the ability to print or download in TIFF (Tagged Image File Format) as well as PDF and PostScript formats.
LexisNexis Academic is a web-based service that provides access to most of the information formerly available on the LexisNexis Educational Program (approximately 75% of the titles). It covers general, regional and international news, company news and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many of the files are full-text. LexisNexis Academic is a service of LexisNexis Academic & Library Solutions.
Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. (From vendor site).
It covers the academic research and practice literature in psychology from over 45 countries in more than 25 languages. PsycINFO includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present. Many journals are available in full-text.