It is sometimes possible to locate a specific short story in a collection of stories, if that collection has been cataloged to include the authors and titles of individual stories in the "Notes Field" of a bibliographic record in a library's catalog. Try searching for keywords (e.g., "hemingway" and "killers") in the UNC catalog or in WorldCat, a union catalog of several thousand libraries' holdings.
There are many web sites for online collections of literary fiction, many of which include short stories and novels. Below is a small selection from what is available. Also, a Google search may turn up online versions of a short story (e.g., Faulkner and Barn Burning). However, as with all free web sites, it may be difficult to determine the accuracy and authenticity of the material.
- Academic Search Complete
Indexes popular magazines and some scholarly journals, ca. 1975 to present. Links to much full text. Search for Au (e.g., Updike, John) and Limit "Document Type" to "Short Story." For simultaneous retrospective searching, select "Choose Databases" and also select Readers' Guide Retrospective.
- The American Humanities Index
Indexes short stories (and poems, etc.) published in over 500 periodicals. Author and subject indexing. Individual short stories are also alphabetized under the heading "Stories." Annual cumulations.
Davis Reference AI3 .A4 1975-2004.
- Black Literature Index, 1827-1940 (Via Black Studies Center)
This indexes the large microfiche collection, Black Literature, 1827-1940 (Davis Library Microfiche (Lower Level), Fiche 1-3162). Limit search to "Fiction." This project identifies, and reproduces on microfiche, fiction, poetry, book reviews and literary notices published by African Americans in approximately 900 newspapers and magazines between 1827 and 1940.
- Comprehensive Index to English-Language Little Magazines, 1890-1970, Series One
An index of 100 important little magazines for the period indicated. Indexing is by personal name, with further designations for "Works By" and "Works About." [No other series published.] 8 vols.
Davis Reference AI3 .S223
- Fiction in American Magazines before 1800: An Annotated Catalogue
A scholarly bibliography providing a catalog of more than 500 works in 90 American magazines published before 1800. Includes useful chronologies. (3 vols.)
Davis Reference (Row 12) PS375 .P573 2002
- Index to American Little Magazines
Davis Reference AI3 .I54 [1900-1939]
- Index to Commonwealth Little Magazines
Davis Reference AI3 .I48 [1964/1965-1990/1992]
- Index to Little Magazines
Davis Reference AI3 .I54 [1940-1966/67]
- Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Use advanced search (e.g., keywords: jumping frog story and au: Twain).
- Periodicals Index Online
Periodical Index Online provides keyword indexing to the contents of more than 6000 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from their first issues to 1995. Links to some full text.
Search for short story writer as Author (e.g., o'connor, flannery) and short story title keywords in Title field, along with the word "story" (e.g. "life you save" and story).
- Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Readers' Guide Retrospective provides indexing of American popular magazines for the period 1890-1982. Search for author (e.g. Faulkner, William) and Limit "Document Type" to "Short Story." For simultaneous searching of more recent periodicals, "Choose Databases" and select Academic Search Complete.
- The Standard Index of Short Stories, 1900-1914
An index of "short stories published in American magazines, but not reprinted in book form." Indexes some stories not found in the Reader's Guide to Periodicals (cf. above).
Davis Reference (Row 16) Z5917 .S5 H2