Slavic & East European Collections: Cooperative Collections

Overview of the Slavic & East European Collections at the UNC-Chapel Hill Libraries

Slavic & East European Studies Librarian

Kirill Tolpygo
Contact:
134 Davis Library, CB#3918
(919) 962-8044

Cooperative Collections Overview

A long-standing, cooperative collection development agreement between Duke and UNC Slavic librarians has enabled both universities to develop strong collections in practically all areas of Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies. Collection responsibilities are divided primarily by language and region. Both institutions collect English language materials dealing with Slavic, Eurasian, and East European Studies comprehensively and materials in other West European languages selectively.

The main collecting areas include:

Bosnian, Croatian and Serbian Studies

UNC is responsible for building collections in Bosnian, Croatian and Serbian languages as well as for other publications from former Yugoslavia.

Czech & Slovak Studies

UNC is responsible for building collections in the Czech and Slovak languages. Selective acquistions are also made in other languages, most notably German and Russian.

Hungarian Studies

UNC is responsible for building collections in the Hungarian language. Selective acquisitions are also made in other languages, most notably German.

Polish Studies

Duke is responsible for building collections in the Polish language. UNC acquires Polish language materials selectively in specific subjects and to support local research needs. Selective acquisitions are also made by both institutions in other languages, most notably German and Russian.

Russian Studies

Both institutions collect Russian language materials broadly and both institutions make selective acquisitions in other languages, most notably French and German. In recent years, the two institutions have developed a cooperative collection development program for Russian literature and literary criticism. Additionally, UNC focuses on Russian émigré materials and diaspora studies, while Duke focuses on art history and visual culture.

Ukrainian Studies

Duke is responsible for building collections in the Ukrainian language. UNC is responsible for acquiring Russian language materials published in Ukraine. Acquisitions in other languages are made primarily by Duke, most notably in Polish and German.

Furthermore, both universities leverage their membership in the Triangle Research Libraries Network (TRLN), the NC LIVE consortium, the North East Research Libraries Consortium (NERL), the East Coast Consortium of Slavic Library Collections (ECC), and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to make additional consortial purchases, negotiate better prices for major electronic databases, exchange duplicates among themselves, and share information in the highly complex area of Slavic, Eurasian and East European collection development and acquisitions, thus further enhancing Duke and UNC-CH libraries' ability to meet the research and teaching needs of their students and faculty.

UNC-Duke Slavic, Eurasian & East European Print Holdings, 2013

  • Last Updated: Mar 20, 2017 10:29 AM
  • URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/slavic-east-european-collections