SOCI 691H/692H: Honors Thesis in Sociology: Literature and Working Papers
Off campus research support
If you are hitting a paywall when trying to read an article...
- Try using our link builder. This adds a proxy to the URL that will prompt you for your onyen and password. https://library.unc.edu/support/reserves/link-builder/
- Try clearing the cache in the web browser you are using. Close the browser completely and then open it back up to try the URL again.
- Send me an email at shawgo@email.unc.edu or chat with a librarian at https://library.unc.edu/ask
Tips and Tricks
Note the difference between peer-reviewed literature (in Sociological Abstracts, for instance) and working papers (NBER). Working papers are often timely and valid to use, but haven't gone through formal peer review.
Web of Science is good for identifying and ranking key journals and highly-cited articles in any field or subfield of the social sciences.
You could also find a journal that's just perfect for your topic. Search our list of e-journals.
See how others have done it: search for dissertations and theses below.
Core Sociology Literature and Papers
- Sociological AbstractsDatabase covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
- ProQuest Social Science DatabaseResearch covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
Other Sources for Literature
- America, History and LifeAn index for North American history consisting of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations & book reviews. America, History and Life is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. (Source: vendor website.)
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. - ATLA Religion DatabaseA major index to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in the field of religion. The ATLA Religion Database covers over 1,400 journals, including over 600 being currently indexed, and nearly 16,000 collections of essays.
The equivalent print indexes are- Religion Index One: periodicals, 1949-present;
- Religion Index Two: multi-author works, 1960-present;
- Research in Ministry, 1981-1996;
- Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present;
- and Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985.
- EconLitMajor index to economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association. It includes citations and abstracts from 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
- ERICProduced by the Educational Resource Information Center, ERIC provides indexing and abstracting for journal and report literature (1966 to the present) in education and related disciplines.
- GenderWatchFull-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
- Global HealthA public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene. More than 2.6 million records from 1973 to the present day sourced from over 7,000 serials, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, theses, electronic publications and other hard-to-find resources. Publications from over 100 countries in 52 languages. Over 185,000 records added each year.
- Google ScholarUse Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Google Think Tank Search EngineSearches the websites of institutions that generate public policy research, analysis, and activity. These sites are affiliated with universities, governments, advocacy groups, foundations, and non-governmental organizations. The list represents a mixture of partisan and non-partisan think tanks.
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineHelps you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library.
- PsycInfoDatabase from the American Psychological Association covering the academic research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.).
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
- E-Research by DisciplineSelect a subject area from this list to find the top resources for each discipline.
Working Papers
- National Bureau of Economic Research Working PapersProvides full text of the complete set of working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).
- SocArXivOpen archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code. SocArXiv is dedicated to opening up social science, to reach more people more effectively, to improve research, and build the future of scholarly communication.
Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text.
- Carolina Digital Repository (CDR)Digital archive for materials produced by members of the UNC community. The main goal of the CDR is to keep UNC digital scholarly output safe and accessible for as long as needed. Great resource to look at undergraduate theses written in your department.
UNC Catalog Search
Newspapers
- Alt-PressWatchAlt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism.
- America's NewsAmerica's News includes the complete electronic editions of 827 newspapers.
- Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
- Nexis UniCovers general, regional, and international news, company and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many files are full-text.
Connect with us
