This is the "Home" page of the "South & Southeast Asian Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

South & Southeast Asian Collections  

Last Updated: Apr 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/south-southeast-asian-collections Print Guide Email Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

South Asian Librarian

Profile Image
Edward Proctor
Contact Info
Davis Library Global Resources & Area Studies
(919) 843-3859
Send Email
 
 

Collection Overview

The University Library has built up one of the best collections of South Asian material in English and selected vernacular languages -- i.e., Hindi, Tamil, and Sanskrit  -- in the Southeast United States. Coverage of English-language material is comprehensive in many subjects, especially archaeology, art, religious studies, history, political science, and literature. Material in the vernacular languages is mostly literature and linguistics. The library has a substantial collection of central and state government documents of India from the colonial period to date, as well as access to the major newspapers.

Holdings in Southeast Asian area studies are generally supportive of undergraduate level teaching and research. Subject areas covered are primarily history, culture, sociology, economics, literature, and Vietnam War materials; efforts have also been made to add to holdings concerning public policy, development, social issues,  art, religion and music.

Language emphasis for Southeast Asia is on English materials, with some coverage of French (for the countries of the former French Indochina) and Spanish (especially the Philippines) and, to an even lesser degree, Dutch (Indonesia). There are few holdings in indigenous languages.


All material is integrated with the general library collection and is accessed through the online catalog. The majority of items are housed at Davis Library; however, specialized titles are sent to the appropriate branch library.

 

Subject Guides

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip