This is the "Common E-Journal Problems" page of the "E-Resource Troubleshooting" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-Resource Troubleshooting  

A convenient place for staff to look for ways to solve a problem with an electronic resource.
Last Updated: Jun 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.unc.edu/content.php?pid=478782 Print Guide Email Alerts

Common E-Journal Problems Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Possible solutions to common problems

URL does not work

Instead of getting the journal, you're getting a 404 Not Found error, or maybe a 500 Internal Server Error, or some other frustrating message about this particular corner of the Internet being broken.

Google the journal title or article title in quotes to see if it's out there.  Provide the needed item to the user and report the bad URL via the problem report form.  If you aren't able to track down the item, instruct the user to request it through ILL.

Full-text should be available, but it's not

According to the catalog and/or the e-journals list, the full-text article your user needs should be available--but it's not.  Maybe the date needed is not available, maybe it's the specific article that's missing, or maybe there is just nothing available in full-text at all.

There may or may not be a clue as to what's going on; you may see a "subscription expired" message.  The particular issue needed may not have any PDFs. There are so many causes for a lapse in, or lack of, access.  RMS staff will gladly investigate!

Instruct the user to request the needed item through ILL and report the problem via the problem report form.

I thought this journal was Open Access/free

If the site is asking for a login, users may need to register and create a free account.  If the site is asking for money to view full-text, then it's moved to a subscription model.  Either way, let us know via a problem report, so that we can investigate and update the database.  If the content is no longer free, instruct the user to request it via ILL!

You do not have sufficient credentials to access this record!

It seems like at least once a year, this happens; SportDiscus (or CINAHL, or another database) presents the following error message:

The article or journal you have requested is not available to UNIV OF NORTH CAROLINA - CHAPEL HILL. We have detected that you do not have sufficient credentials to access this record.  Please contact your library administrator for assistance.

When article-level linking is blocked, try accessing the database itself and then searching for the specific article needed. 

Report via the problem report form; this generally takes Ebsco several days to straighten out.

Find@UNC links don't go to the requested article

Go in through the journal-level link and search for the citation.

Report via the problem report form: RMS staff will notify the publisher of bad/missing article-level links.

As always, if you are unable to find the needed item, instruct the user to request it through ILL.

Ezproxy cfg file needs host entry

When this error message appears, click on the suggested link in the message to see if it works.

Report via the problem report form, and instruct the user to request the needed item through ILL if the link doesn't work..

Publisher icons in PubMed aren't going to full-text

Use the Find@UNC icon; we don't have any control over the publisher icons in PubMed displays.

Title I'm taken to doesn't match title I was looking for

Is the title somewhat similar? 

Check the listing of all issues to see if the year, volume, and issue you need are available.  You will probably find that the article is there.

Many publishers are choosing to consolidate all previous titles on the same page with the current title of a journal.  Some publishers neglect to add helpful historical title information.

If you aren't able to find the needed item, instruct the user to request it through ILL. Report via the problem report form.

I'm on campus, and the journal site is down for me

You've already checked Down For Everyone Or Just Me, and it says it's just you. Don't take it personally.

Report via the problem report form.  The site may be blocked at the campus firewall.

Electronic Journals Specialist

Profile Image
Monica Samsky
Logo - Google Talk
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip