Researching UNC Alumni: North Carolina Collection Resources

The Yackety Yack and the Daily Tar Heel

Two highly useful resources for researching alumni are the Yackety Yack, UNC's yearbook, and the Daily Tar Heel, UNC's campus newspaper. 

The North Carolina Collection holds issues of the Daily Tar Heel (called the Tar Heel before 1929) dating from 1893, both on microfilm and in bound volumes, which are accessible in the North Carolina Collection Reading Room. Researchers are required to use microfilm copies of past issues. The microfilm edition of the Daily Tar Heel is housed in the North Carolina Collection's Microfilm Reading Room. Please see call number C071 T6. Some past issues of the Daily Tar Heel have been digitized, and these scans are immediately and freely available to researchers from the Internet Archive. Recent issues can be accessed from the Daily Tar Heel website.  

The North Carolina Collection also maintains the Daily Tar Heel Headline Archive, a searchable database of the newspaper's headlines, circa 1970-2003.

Digitized versions of UNC's yearbooks, the Hellenian and the Yackety Yack, dating from 1890 to1991, are immediately and freely available from the North Carolina Digital Heritage Center. Clicking on a yearbook's title will allow you to browse that volume as well as perform keyword searches for names and organizations. Additionally, the North Carolina Collection holds physical copies of each yearbook, accessible in the North Carolina Collection Reading Room. Materials may be requested from the following links:

The North Carolina Collection Biographical Index

The North Carolina Collection Biographical Index contains citations to biographical sketches about North Carolinians. Over five hundred volumes, primarily from the North Carolina Collection and other libraries at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, have been indexed to date.

Clicking the above link will allow you to search the index for a name. Users can enter as much or as little information as they have into the search fields. Because the entries were taken from multiple sources, the same person may appear under different versions of his or her name. For example, Zebulon Vance appears as "Vance, Zebulon," "Vance, Zeb," and "Vance, Z.B." Users are encouraged to truncate names when possible. A search for "Vance, Z" will retrieve all entries under the last name "Vance" and beginning with the first initial "Z".

Please note that the biographical index is not comprehensive. Results for specific alumni may or may not be returned.

North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives

The North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives has a rich collection of historic photographs of UNC. The most relevant collections for researching UNC history and alumni are linked below. Clicking on a link will navigate to the collection's finding aid, where researchers can view a list of the collection's contents and request materials to view in the reading room.

Additionally, photographic collections exist for some UNC schools and departments. A full list of collections in the North Carolina Collection Photographic Archives can be accessed here.

UNC Course Catalogs

Course catalogs contain information on classes offered at UNC and, occassionally (in the case of older catalogs), lists of students enrolled in certain programs. The links below navigate to lists of library catalog records for these course catalogs. The dates for the resources linked below are not exact, so researchers should check both lists for relevant resources.

  • Newer Course Catalogs
    Includes catalogs and bulletins for UNC and its various schools, largely post-1900s.
  • Older Course Catalogs
    Includes catalogs and bulletins for UNC and its various schools, largely pre-1900s.

UNC catalog search (search opens in new window)

   

Online Resources

A number of essential works concerning student life and University History have been digitally published, and these works are available to you at home via the internet. To verify an individual's enrollment, level of educational achievement, and membership in the Philanthropic or Dialectic Society, researchers are encouraged to review the following works for the names of alumni. Each of the texts listed below is keyword searchable using the "Ctrl F" or Find function available in your web browser.