Using LibGuides 2.0

This guide provides information related to setting up your LibGuides account, creating and editing LibGuides, as well as the standards that are in place for how LibGuides should generally look and feel.

Tips for Effective Guides

The following are some tips that will help you and users get the most out of Subject Guides:

  • Keep descriptions of databases and websites short and relevant to users coming to that page (1 to 2 lines that explain why someone in the subject area/class would need this resource).
  • Minimize use of library jargon like "database", "index", "research".
  • Limit information to keep the page scanable.
  • Use the database asset to ensure that if the URL or information changes for a source, it will automatically be updated in your guide. 
  • Make all box and tab titles clear and descriptive so that page is easily scanned and navigated by users.
  • When appropriate, provide concise, descriptive directions for users so that they may easily find the resources you highlight in your description. Example: Investopedia provides tutorials, stock quotes and reports. Find reports under "Stock Ideas"
  • Try to break down large chunks of text into easily scanned lists. Add white space and images whenever possible.
  • Use PNG, GIF, or JPG files for pictures and graphics.  Resize the graphics with Photoshop or Irfanview.  If you need help cropping or resizing a picture, contact the LibGuides team.

Asset Tips

Assets are the smallest unit of content in LibGuides 2.0. Multiple types of assets can live in the same box. You can reorder, edit, and delete your assets. For more information on assets, see the Asset Types tab. 

  • You can add assets by clicking on the Add / Reorder button at the bottom of every box.
  • You can edit or delete assets by clicking on the pencil and paper symbol in the bottom right corner of the asset. 
  • You can reorder assets by clicking on the Add / Reorder button at the bottom of every box. Select Reorder Content and then drag the assets into the order you want. Click Done Reordering when you are finished. 

Box Tips

In the new system, there are only fours types of boxes. You will be using the standard box for most of your content, and unlike in the old system, different types of content (assets) can be in one box.

  1. Standard - used for most purposes. Can contain a variety of content types.
  2. Tabbed Box - create a box with multiple tabs.
  3. Gallery - create a box with rotating images.
  4. User Profile - add your profile box to the page.

You can reorder your boxes, edit, or delete them.

Reordering/Moving Boxes

  1. Under the Page menu indicated by the gear symbol, select Reorder / Move Boxes.
  2. Click and drag the title of your boxes into the order that you want - you can move them in the column where they are, to a different column, or put them on a different page, by dragging the box title to the name of another tab on the right side
  3. Click on Save

Editing/Deleting Boxes

  1. Click the pencil symbol in the top right corner of a box
  2. Change the box name in the space provided 
  3. Delete the box by clicking the X in the top right corner

Linking to Library Resources

1. Links for catalog records and catalog searches are persistent (i.e. you can copy and paste from the address bar).

2. Links for Articles+ searches are persistent, BUT you have to add the UNC proxy prefix in front of what you copy from the address bar:

http://libproxy.lib.unc.edu/login?url=

3. Use the database asset to link to database records. If you are mentioning a database in a rich text box, rather than using it as an asset, link to the friendly URL found here: http://unc.beta.libguides.com/az.php (click on the link symbol next to the database name). 

Creating a guide in collaboraton with a full time librarian

It’s usually best for a full-time librarian to create the actual guide, and then make the graduate student assistant an editor.  (That way only the librarian’s profile box appears on the guide.) You can add students or other librarians as editors by clicking on the gear symbol at the top right and selecting Guide Editors

If you have already created the guide and need to transfer ownership to someone else, please contact the LibGuides team.