What's on this page?
This page is a quick reference guide to all things LibGuides, and is meant to help you get started, both if you've just been given an account and if you're simply creating a new guide.
Login and edit your profile
To log in go to guides.lib.unc.edu and scroll all the way to the bottom of the page. Then click on the Admin Sign In link in the lower right corner.
If you need to change you password for any reason:
- Click on Edit My Account (top right corner beside Sign Out)
- In the Account Information tab, check your email address and name
- Type your new password in Password and Pass Confirm boxes
- Click on Save Changes
From the Dashboard (your LibGuides Admin home page), you can edit your profile box:
- Click on the edit button next to the profile box title
- Edit the information in the Customize Profile Box tab
- Click Save Profile
**Note: If you’d like to have a chat widget in your profile box, contact Emily or Chad.
Create a New Guide
You can use the following steps to create either a new Subject Guide or a new Course Page:
- From the Dashboard page, select Create New Guide, and click the radio button to Use an existing guide as a template
- Select Guides at My Institution, type three asterisks [ *** ] in the search box, and click Search
- Choose the template associated with the type of guide you are creating.
- Create a title, which will appear at the top of every page in this guide
- Select one of the University Library groups under group. The University Library Groups are:
- Coursepages - pages created as part of library instruction for a specific course
- Subject Guides - University Library - Subject guides created by University Library staff
- Librarian Profile - pages created to replace the default librarian profile
- Collections - pages created to provide a collection overview
Create your Home Page
If you are creating a subject guide, the guidelines require a set homepage with two boxes.
- A description of your guide; what kind of information is provided within this resource and a description and link to all the pages in your guide
- The librarian profile box for the owner of the guide (appearing on the right hand side).
If there are tabbed pages in your guide, provide links to the tabs along the top. For example:
- Your first tab - explanation of what is on this tab
- Your second tab - explanation of what is on this tab
- Your third tab - explanation of what is on this tab
Because course pages are based on working with a specific class and instructor, there are no requirements for the homepage.
Librarian Profile Guides
With librarian profile guides, they should only be a single page with the librarian profile appearing on the left hand side. If there is a list of guides included on the page, it should be created with the API utility and not be a static list. Let someone from the LibGuide Team know if you need help creating a box using the API utility.
The collections home pages should have a librarian profile on the left and a collections overview in the center column. There are two optional boxes for a feed of the subject librarian that supports the area's subject guide list and for a list of related links box. These guides should also have only two other tabs in the guide, cooperative collection and featured collections.
Tips for home pages
- If you have a multipage guide, you want your home page to act as a guide for someone that lands on your page, but doesn't know what they are looking at.
- You can edit the content of a profile box on an individual guide's home page without altering your default profile box. To do this:
- Click on the pencil in the top right corner of your profile box to create a custom profile for your guide
- To return the profile box to its default state, click the grey profile icon to the right of the pencil
Add new pages/tabs to your guide
Tabs denote pages within a guide. If your guide uses tabs, choose a short name that describes the content on each tabbed page. To create a new tab in your guide:
- Under Add/Edit Pages in the Command Bar, select Add/Resuse Page
- Choose a short page name, and leave the position as Add as a top level page for this new page to be in your guide's row of tabe, and click Create Page
Things to note about adding new pages:
- You want the tab name to be a good indicator for the content of the page and how that content in different from the other pages you have (i.e. if you have a tab called "home" and a tab called "general", what is the difference?)
- You should never use the options for creating subpages without prior approval from Kim, Emily, or Chad.
- You should never use the option to redirect to a new page outside of the guide.
- You should never have more than one row of tabs for your guide.
- You can add a friendly URL to a tabbed page. Be sure to include the name of the guide in your URL. For example, if the guide's URL is guides.lib.unc.edu/econ, the tab's URL should be guides.lib.unc.edu/econ/newtab
Create New Boxes
To create a new box:
- Click Add New Box at the bottom of the column you want to add content, choose a box type, add a title, and choose its position on the page
- Then click on Create Box
After you've created a box, click on edit text/link/etc. (at the bottom of the box).
For more information about the different box types available, see the Box Types tab.
You can reuse any box created by any user in the LibGuides system, either by copying or linking to the box.
The LibGuides team has also created some boxes that you may find useful, such as chat widgets to most University Libraries, a catalog search boxes, and library services (ILL, CDR, etc). These boxes are in the guide labeled "*Master boxes for reuse."
Reuse a box
- Click Add new box, and choose the Reuse Existing Box tab
- Choose the guide with the box that you want to reuse, and select the box to be reused.
- Give the box a title, and choose it's position on the page.
- Choose whether you'd like to copy or link to the box. If you want to copy the box, check the checkbox above the Reuse Box button.
- When finished, click Reuse Box to add it to your guide.
Copying Boxes vs. Linking to Boxes
Linking to a box maps to an existing box in another guide; you cannot edit a linked box in your guide. If a linked box is edited by its creator, it will be updated in your guide as well. To link a box, leave the “Make a copy of this box rather than mapping to the original…” option unchecked at the bottom, then click Reuse Box.
Copying a box allows you to edit a box created by another user in your guide. To copy a box, check the box beside “Make a copy of this box rather than mapping to the original…” and click Reuse Box. If their are any changes to the original, they will not be reflected on the copied box.
For boxes reused from *Master boxes for reuse, we suggest linking to them instead of copying.
Publish and Share Your Guide
Your guide needs to be made public for anyone to view it. There are two main steps in the process:
- Updating publication status in LibGuides
- Adding course page or subject guide to UNC Libraries guides database
To publish your guide in LibGuides:
- Under in Command Bar, select
- In the Guide Publication Status drop-down menu, choose Published - visible to everyone via the search and browse screen
If desired , you can create a friendly URL for your guide:
- Under Guide Settings in Command Bar, select Change Guide Information
- Near the bottom of the box, under Friendly URL: type a short name that can be easily shared in the space after http://guides.lib.unc.edu/ — the name may consist of lowercase letters and/or numbers (NO spaces).
To add your guide to the UNC Libraries guides database:
- Get approval to make the guide live - (approval process)
- Go to https://intranet.lib.unc.edu
- Under Resources For Your Job, select Web Admin Tools
- Choose either Course Pages Admin or Guides Admin
- Click on Enter a new guide/metadata record
- Enter guide’s information in the form and submit
- Return to either the Course Pages Admin or Guides Admin page and click Activate a record to make it visible
- Select the course page or subject guide you just entered and Activate page
- Your guide should be available immediately