Part I—Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin, and the Daughters of Bilitis—provides extensive information on the founding and growth of the homophile movement, especially the Daughters of Bilitis and The Ladder, including early meeting minutes, correspondence, chapter records, membership data, and manuscripts unavailable elsewhere. Part II—Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis—provides valuable sources on a range of other issues and groups.
Not only were they founders in 1955 of the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB), but they also were instrumental in the formation and growth of other related social movements, including the contemporary women’s rights movement.
The databases highlighted below are essential to Women's Studies research. You may also want to browse all Women's Studies databases.
GenderWatch (enlarging the scope of Women 'R') is a full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues. The database provides coverage of the subjects that are uniquely central to women's daily lives, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as: the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sexuality and sexology, sports and leisure. GenderWatch contains a significant body of archival material dating back to the mid 1970's. Additional archival material continues to be added, making GenderWatch a repository of information providing an historical perspective on the evolution of women's and gender issues over the last fifteen to twenty years. (Source: vendor website.)
An interdisciplinary database covering women's issues worldwide. Women's Studies International is an interdisciplinary database combined from Women Studies Abstracts (1972-present), Women's Studies Database (1972-present), New Books on Women and Feminism (1987-present), Women of Color and Southern Women (1975-1995), The History of Women and Science, Health, and Technology: A Bibliographic Guide to the Professions and Disciplines (1970-1995), Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography (1995), Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A Bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's Audiovisuals in English: A Guide to Nonprint Resources in Women's Studies (1985-1990), and POPLINE Subset on Women (1964-present). NISC will add new databases as they become available.
Thousands of pages of materials provide scholars and students with in-depth access to the published histories and records of women's organizations throughout the United States. It also has documented projects on a broad range of topics of interest to today's students, each including footnotes to introductory material, annotations of primary documents, a bibliography, and a list of related Web links. This database has a powerful full-text search engine that provides in-depth access to its content.
Alt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism.
It indexes six types of materials: books and government documents; articles appearing in edited books; periodical and journal articles; master's theses and Ph.D. dissertations as well as a few B.A. theses and honors papers; conference papers; and videocassettes; and has a clickable map. Coverage before 1986 is found in the following print works: African women: A General Bibliography, 1976-1985 (Davis Reference Z7964.A3 B84 1989); Women of Northern, Western, and Central Africa: A Bibliography, 1976-1985 (Davis Reference Z7964.A3 B85 1989); and Women of Eastern and Southern Africa: A Bibliography, 1976-1985 (Davis Reference Z7964.A337 B84 1998).
Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and associated resources. The result is an exceptionally deep and unified collection - to give voices to women, to represent women's issues, to break stereotypes, to examine women's views, to present women in various roles, and simply to entertain.
Documents the entire spectrum of underground and independent North American and European comics and graphic novels, with 75,000 pages of original material from the 1950s to today along with more than 25,000 pages of interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines, including The Comics Journal.
Use this a unique online resource to explore the social and cultural lives of women during the Qajar era (1796-1925) through an array of materials from private family holdings and participating institutions. Women’s Worlds in Qajar Iran provides bilingual access to personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, publications, everyday objects, works of art and audio materials.
Documents the female experience in the U.S. Armed Forces through letters, papers, photographs, published materials, uniforms, artifacts, and oral histories. It contains more than 500 individual collections which includes 350 oral histories.