Skip to Main Content

HIST 398 Women, Nazi Germany, and the Holocaust: Experiences and Memories: Primary Sources

Searching the UNC Catalog for Primary Sources

When you search the library catalog, begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant resources. Keyword terms used to find primary sources can include:

- Personal narratives - Diaries
- Correspondence         - Letters
- Interviews                            - Autobiography
- Memoirs - Maps
- Pamphlets - Speeches
- Sources - Archives
- Archival Resources  

 

Examples of keyword searches might look like:

Once you identify appropriate items, Library of Congress (LC) Subject Headings can be used to narrow your search and link you to similar resources with the same subject heading. Subject headings are found under the "Subjects" or "Full Record" tabs.

 

Newspapers

 We offer a large number of newspaper and news databases, both current and historical.  Several ones of particular interest:

Websites

Open access web sites provide millions of digitized primary source documents.

  • WWW-VL History  WorldWideWeb Virtual Library History
  • EuroDocs.  Millions of documents organized by country.
  • Europeana   "Explore millions of items from a range of Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums."
  • Internet History Sourcebooks. From Fordham University "a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use."
  • Voice of the Shuttle - History

Testimony Resources

Guides

Finding Primary Sources

This local guide provides assistance in pursuing research using primary sources, especially those we have available here in several formats: paper, republication, microfilm, and electronic. The database below helps identifies primary source repositories around the world.

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid serves as a single point of entry that provides online access to descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.