AAAD 202: African Film and Performance: Finding Articles

Provides access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa, such as articles, books, newspapers, government documents, radio and TV broadcasts, pamphlets, maps, theses, and music recordings. It compiles nearly 2 million records from nearly 30 separate databases originally created in Africa, Europe, and the United States. It covers topics from politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism and much more.

Note: Limited to 1 user at a time.

Hosts over 200 freely available journals published in Africa covering the agricultural sciences, science and technology, health, social sciences and more. It includes tables of contents, abstracts, and links to online full-text where available. Please note that only some of the journals on this site are open-access. Many require a subscription for access.

Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.

Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.

Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.

Created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.

A major information resource for entertainment films, directors and key players produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics and current cinema - Film Index International provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.

Indexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.

In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses