AAAD 303: Islamic Cultures of Contemporary Africa: Journal articles and newspapers

Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.

Provides citations and links to journal articles, reports, and commentaries for the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology; also for ethnology, archaeology, folklore and material culture.

A major index to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in the field of religion. The ATLA Religion Database covers over 1,400 journals, including over 600 being currently indexed, and nearly 16,000 collections of essays.

The equivalent print indexes are

• Religion Index One: periodicals, 1949-present;
• Religion Index Two: multi-author works, 1960-present;
• Research in Ministry, 1981-1996;
• Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present;
• and Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985.

Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.

Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.

Provides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.

Indexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.

In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses

Provides access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa, such as articles, books, newspapers, government documents, radio and TV broadcasts, pamphlets, maps, theses, and music recordings. It compiles nearly 2 million records from nearly 30 separate databases originally created in Africa, Europe, and the United States. It covers topics from politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism and much more.

Note: Limited to 1 user at a time.

Hosts over 200 freely available journals published in Africa covering the agricultural sciences, science and technology, health, social sciences and more. It includes tables of contents, abstracts, and links to online full-text where available. Please note that only some of the journals on this site are open-access. Many require a subscription for access.

UNC Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library. For app downloads, visit NYTimes.com/mobile.

Access does not include e-reader editions, NYT Cooking, Premium Crosswords or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users also receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.

To set up your account: Please consult https://guides.lib.unc.edu/nyt-academic-pass for detailed directions on setting up your account.

AllAfrica archive is a unique collection containing over 5 million articles from hundreds of African news organizations and from AllAfrica's award-winning reporting team, as well as documents and releases from a range of NGOs, governments and international institutions. The archive covers from 1996.

Contains the full text of newspapers published in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. Languages include English, German, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Xhosa, Sotho, and others.

Includes 64 19th century African newspapers, collected by the British Library, covering the entire continent and including Ghana, Nigeria, Malawi, Morocco, Saint Helena, Sierra Leone, and South Africa.

“Provides scholars with unprecedented electronic access to the United Kingdom’s Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices’ confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This resource provides researchers with a searchable collection of scores of official documents covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonisation of Africa. The early stages of imperial expansion and indigenous resistance in the interior of western and southern Africa, the European scramble for the continent in the late nineteenth century and the expansion of settler colonialism in southern and eastern Africa are all covered.”