Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Indexing, 1975-present; Full-text, 1975-present
Provides access to multi-disciplinary information on Africa, such as articles, books, newspapers, government documents, radio and TV broadcasts, pamphlets, maps, theses, and music recordings. It compiles nearly 2 million records from nearly 30 separate databases originally created in Africa, Europe, and the United States. It covers topics from politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism and much more.
Note: Limited to 1 user at a time.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies
Hosts over 200 freely available journals published in Africa covering the agricultural sciences, science and technology, health, social sciences and more. It includes tables of contents, abstracts, and links to online full-text where available. Please note that only some of the journals on this site are open-access. Many require a subscription for access.
The CQ Researcher is the perfect answer for people beginning research on current topics. It covers the most current and controversial issues of the day. From Abortion to War, each issue gives you a comprehensive review of the controversies, historical background, chronology of important events, opposing views from experts on the subject, and extensive bibliographies for additional research.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions). Coverage: 1991-present
Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Varies. Excludes most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Consists of seven major resources, Africana Periodical Literature, African Women's literature, Women Travelers, Islam in Contemporary Sub-Saharan Africa, Kenya Coast, Water and Africa, and Education in Africa. This database is probably the best one to use for most African topics. It does not provide full-text, but most of the journals cited are in the UNC Libraries collection. Besides the bibliography, this site also provides links to other useful sites.
To expand free, online access to journals published in Africa, the African e-Journals Project has digitized full text of articles of eleven social science and humanities journals and made them available on this web site.
ASA Online succeeded the printed abstracts journal of the African Studies Centre Leiden, published since 1968, first as Documentatieblad, then as African Studies Abstracts (1994-2002). It provided a quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities available in the ASCL library. ASAO no. 60 (2017) was the last issue.
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing news and information from over 140 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public.
Connecting-Africa is a gateway to African research information and materials produced worldwide. It provides access to 76520 publications from 95 repositories as well as information on 55 Africa experts (researchers, policymakers, development practioners) and on 891 organisations (research or development-related institutes with expertise on Africa).
All UNC Chapel Hill students now have full, year-round access to The New York Times, including smartphone, tablet, and browser access, thanks to a sponsorship from the University Library. For app downloads, visit NYTimes.com/mobile.
Access does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users receive access to the New York Times archives, including five free articles from 1923 through 1980, per day; archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.
Note: Students must click on "Create Account" and follow the instructions. To be eligible, you must register using your @live.unc.edu email account. Please allow up to a week for your registration to be processed.
Indexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1861 to present
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. In October 2010, this portal provided access to 177641 full-text research theses from 300 Universities sourced from 19 European countries.