ANTH 232: Ancestral Maya Civilizations: Books and Articles
Finding books
- Library Catalog
Discover books, journals, films, primary source collections, government documents, and other materials held at UNC and in the Triangle (you can request materials from Duke, NC State and NC Central) as well as a variety of open access publications.
-
You can request most titles that UNC does not have through Interlibrary Loan. Carolina BLU uses the InterLibrary Loan (ILL) service to request materials from other campus libraries.
-
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. Use the "Available Online" filter to limit to materials that may be accessed remotely. Under "Resource Type" you can restrict your results to books, journals, or government documents.
- Keyword: K’axob archaeology
- Associated Subject Heading: "Excavations (Archaeology) -- Belize"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Mayas -- Antiquities"
- Keyword: Symbolism in Maya artifacts
- Associated Subject Heading: "Mayas -- Social life and customs"
- Associated Subject Heading: "Maya sculpture -- Social aspects"
- Useful Search Terms
- "K’axob" AND "ceramic figurines"
- "Maya artifacts" AND "ritual use"
- "Maya civilization" AND "material culture" AND ("Tikal" OR "Copán")
- "Mesoamerican archaeology" AND "ceramic analysis"
- "Maya burial practices" AND "figurines"
-
To find primary resources, you can add keywords to your search, such as: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government and organizational records, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, artifacts, etc. For additional information on primary resources, please consult this guide: Finding Primary Source Materials
General and multidisciplinary search options
-
Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
-
Articles+Use Articles+ to find:
Scholarly journal articles
News articles
Ebook content
Dissertations
-
Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
-
Project MuseProvides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Subject specific databases
-
Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. -
AnthroSourceDeveloped by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource provides over a century publications online. It has current issues of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications and archives of all AAA journals.
-
ARTstor
A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
Finding foundational readings
-
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineProvides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations.
-
The Oxford Handbook of Mesoamerican Archaeology
by
The Oxford Handbook of Mesoamerican Archaeology provides a current and comprehensive guide to the recent and on-going archaeology of Mesoamerica. Though the emphasis is on prehispanic societies, this Handbook also includes coverage of important new work by archaeologists on the Colonial and Republican periods. Unique among recent works, the text brings together in a single volume article-length regional syntheses and topical overviews written by active scholars in the field of Mesoamerican archaeology. The first section of the Handbook provides an overview of recent history and trends of Mesoamerica and articles on national archaeology programs and practice in Central America and Mexico written by archaeologists from these countries. These are followed regional syntheses organized by time period, beginning with early hunter-gatherer societies and the first farmers of Mesoamerica and concluding with a discussion of the Spanish Conquest and frontiers and peripheries of Mesoamerica. Topical and comparative articles comprise the remainder of Handbook. They cover important dimensions of prehispanic societies -from ecology, economy, and environment to social and political relations - and discuss significant methodological contributions, such as geo-chemical source studies, as well as new theories and diverse theoretical perspectives. The Handbook concludes with a section on the archaeology of the Spanish conquest and the Colonial and Republican periods to connect the prehispanic, proto-historic, and historic periods. This volume will be a must-read for students and professional archaeologists, as well as other scholars including historians, art historians, geographers, and ethnographers with an interest in Mesoamerica.
ISBN: 9780195390933Publication Date: 2012-09-24 -
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
by
Presenting the most up-to-date coverage on our knowledge of this society, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica.Written for a wide audience, it is an invaluable reference for interested lay persons, students, teachers, and scholars in such fields as art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region. Organized alphabetically, the articles range from500-word biographies to 7,000-word entries on geography and history to the legacy of the arts, writings, architecture, and religious rituals.An extensive network of cross-references, blind entries, and annotated bibliographies guide the reader to related entries within the Encyclopedia and provide the groundwork for further research.
ISBN: 9780195142570Publication Date: 2000-11-01 -
The Illustrated Encyclopedia of Aztec and Maya
by
This book offers enthralling insights into the history, mythology legends of the peoples of Mesoamerica, lavishly illustrated throughout.
ISBN: 0754814890Publication Date: 2004-12-29 -
Art and Myth of the Ancient Maya
by
This nuanced account explores Maya mythology through the lens of art, text, and culture. It offers an important reexamination of the mid-16th-century Popol Vuh, long considered an authoritative text, which is better understood as one among many crucial sources for the interpretation of ancient Maya art and myth. Using materials gathered across Mesoamerica, Oswaldo Chinchilla Mazariegos bridges the gap between written texts and artistic representations, identifying key mythical subjects and uncovering their variations in narratives and visual depictions. Central characters--including a secluded young goddess, a malevolent grandmother, a dead father, and the young gods who became the sun and the moon--are identified in pottery, sculpture, mural painting, and hieroglyphic inscriptions. Highlighting such previously overlooked topics as sexuality and generational struggles, this beautifully illustrated book paves the way for a new understanding of Maya myths and their lavish expression in ancient art.
ISBN: 9780300207170Publication Date: 2017-04-25 -
The Ceramics of Tikal--Vessels from the Burials, Caches and Problematical Deposits
by
This monograph contains the illustrations and descriptions of ceramics from special deposits (the burials, caches, and problematical deposits) from the central area of Tikal. These include the best-preserved whole vessels and elaborate polychrome painted and stuccoed cylinders, urns, and tripod vessels with appliquEd and painted ornament, and figural representations. Glyphs painted on some of these ceramics provide insights into the potentially royal lineage of the individuals. The ceramic sequence includes ten complexes dating between 800 B.C. (Middle Preclassic) and ca. A.D. 1200 (Postclassic).
ISBN: 0924171200Publication Date: 1993-01-29 -
Copán
by
This volume collects leading scholarship on one of the most important archaeological complexes in the ancient Maya world. The authors-internationally renowned experts who participated in the long-running Copán Acropolis Archaeological Project-address enduring themes in Maya archaeology. In addition to site-specific breakthroughs involving dynastic sequences, epigraphy, and chronologies, these essays explore questions of broad interest to archaeologists and other anthropologists, including state formation, architecture and space, and the relationship between history and archaeology as well as among archaeology, epigraphy, and iconography.
ISBN: 9781930618381Publication Date: 2005-06-01
UNC Digital Collection
-
Ancient and Living Maya in the 19th and 20th Centuries: Archaeological Discovery, Literary Voice, and Political Struggle Digital ExhibitThis exhibition tells the story of European peoples’ discovery of Maya sites and Mayan languages and literary traditions, alongside the dramatic political history of the region and the Maya struggle for autonomy and self-expression.
Save time searching!
When searching the preceding databases, use these tips for better results:
- Use wildcard characters: If searching for economic conditions, type the word econ* with an asterisk. That will return economies, economic, economist and any other word that starts with [e c o n].
- Use quotes: When searching for two words, quotes will search for the words when they're next to each other. Thomas Jefferson will return articles with Thomas Payne and Jefferson Starship. But when "Thomas Jefferson" is searched, only those articles with his name will be returned.
Use Google's Advanced Search to limit by date, language and more
or
Use Operators in Google Searches
Some favorite operators to remember:
Use quotes to search for a phrase in Google
Exclude a word by adding a dash (-) before it
Search for similar words by adding a tilde (~) before a word (located in the top left of your keyboard)
Limit to specific sites or domains using "site:"
For example: [urban policy site:edu]
will search for urban policy only on sites ending with .edu
General search tips:
Choose effective keywords- what words are likely to appear in the results your want? What other words might be used?
To search for text on a page:
press the Ctrl and the F keys at the same time (PC) or press the command and F keys at the same time (Mac)
Dissertations
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global can provide useful bibliographies and models for structuring your own work.