Art & Design Research: Research Databases

Includes full-text coverage of over 760 journals and 220 books from fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. It also provides detailed indexing and abstracts for many other leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications for which full-text is not available. It has strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Includes and expands on the coverage and contents of Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art & Architecture Complete.

Art & Architecture Complete provides full-text coverage of over 370 periodicals and more than 220 books in the literature of art and art history, interior and landscape design, antiques, and more. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, over 220 books, and features an Image Collection of over 63,000 images. (This database is included in Art Source.)

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals surveys thousands of U.S. and foreign journals and is updated on a weekly basis. The index covers international, scholarly and popular periodical literature, including publications of professional associations, U.S. state and regional periodicals and major serial publications on the architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia. This database also provides citation records for architects' obituaries.

A general reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.

Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.

Provides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.

Major indexing and full text database for African American studies. It includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, a series of essays by leading scholars about the Black Experience; HistoryMakers, a streaming audiovisual collection of 100 oral history interviews (of 2-3 hours each and corresponding transcripts) with prominent contemporary African Americans; historical backfiles of The Chicago Defender and Daily Defender; the International Index to Black Periodicals, which covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for many titles; and Black Literature Index, which contains bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.

Created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), the database indexes more than 500,000 articles from 340 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, dating from 1972 onward. The database also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals; Treasures from the Film Archives, which identifies silent film holdings in archives around the world, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.

Covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and tv reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, as well as pop culture related to film and tv. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity.

Film and Television Literature Index is the new and expanded online version of the print title, Film Literature Index. Those volumes are on Row 17, Davis Reference Department, and cover 1973 to 2004.

Index to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.