French 370 La littérature française 1 : Le Moyen Age et la Renaissance: Finding Books & Articles
Articles
- French17French 17 seeks to provide an annual survey of the work done each year in the general area of seventeenth-century French studies.
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- CAIRNFull-text electronic French journals in French and Francophone Studies as well as general humanities and social sciences journals in French.
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. - JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
- Project MuseProvides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Ways to search for books
- HathiTrust Digital LibraryHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- WorldCatOCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
Searching the catalog
Use an Author Search for books by an artist or literary author and a Subject Search for books about an artist or author:
Author: Montaigne, Michel de, 1533-1592.
Subject: Montaigne, Michel de, 1533-1592.
To search for a subject when the terminology is not known, first search by keyword, then look for relevant records and, using the full record of a book, see if there are any relevant Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) to further your search.
Keyword: medieval French literature
Subject Headings: French literature -- To 1500 -- History and criticism.
Potentially Useful Subject Headings:
Chrétien, de Troyes, active 12th century. Chevalier au lyon
France -- History -- Medieval period, 987-1515
France -- History -- 16th century.
French literature -- To 1500 -- History and criticism.
French literature -- 16th century -- History and criticism.
Labé, Louise, approximately 1526-1566
Marguerite, Queen, consort of Henry II, King of Navarre, 1492-1549. Heptaméron.
Montaigne, Michel de, 1533-1592 -- Criticism and interpretation.
Montaigne, Michel de, 1533-1592. Essais.
Roland (Legendary character) -- Romances.
Villon, François, 1431-1463 -- Criticism and interpretation.
L.C. Call Numbers
This Library of Congress Classification Outline holds true for any library in the world using the LC system. For example,History will be classed in the Ds, Es, or Fs. Fine Arts will be classed in the Ns, and Laguage & Literature will be classed in the Ps.
Call Numbers in Davis Library
Saint-Michel-de-Montaigne
Gallica
- GallicaThe French aggregator for the European Digital Library, Europeana. Developed and maintained by the Bibliotheque Nacional de France, Gallica provides access to over one million items, including books, manuscripts, scores, audio files, and more. While Gallica is not exclusively dedicated to Medieval and Early Modern works, it maintains a very strong collection in this time period. The interface is accessible in both English and French.
