FREN 65 La Mode: Fashion in French Culture: Databases for articles
What is a library database and why use them?
Library Databases vs Google
- Reliability
- Anyone can publish their ideas on the internet
- Information might be out of date since there are no formal reviews in place
- Information found through Google or other search engines is not evaluated for accuracy
- Information found in library databases is preferred because:
- Information is written and reviewed by experts
- Information is evaluated for accuracy and reliability
- Recommended by librarians and faculty
- Relevance
- Google or other search engines turn up lots of results but have very little to do with your search
- Google lacks filters
- Library databases are preferred because:
- You have more control over your search, since filters such as date ranges, languages, and peer reviewed can be applied
- UNC's library databases are grouped in subjects making it easier to find the appropriate information
- Permanence
- In Google or other search engines content can change or disappear all together
- Therefore it can not be archived and makes it impossible to verify your information
- Library databases are preferred because:
- Library databases provide published information that doesn't change over time
- This information will remain in the databases so that you will have access over a long time and scholars are able to verify your work
Source: https://bethelks.libguides.com/c.php?g=11565&p=61196, Evaluating Internet-Based Information: Library databases vs. search engines, from Bethel College Library.
Scholarly articles
If you need to find a database for a specific subject (e.g., Art, History, French), search E-Research Tools by Discipline, and first try the recommended databases. For example, see the E-research Tools for Art
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- Art & Architecture SourceIncludes full-text coverage of over 760 journals and 220 books from fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. It also provides detailed indexing and abstracts for many other leading academic journals, magazines and trade publications for which full-text is not available. It has strong international coverage, including periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. Includes and expands on the coverage and contents of Art Index Retrospective, Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, and Art & Architecture Complete.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryA collection of reference books and encyclopedias in electronic format. The titles cover a wide range of subjects, from the arts to medicine, and from multicultural studies to social science. You can search one title at a time, up to 10 titles that you select, or by broad grouping such as biography, education, or history.
- Harper's Bazaar Archive: US and UKArchives of America's first fashion magazine, plus the long-running UK edition. Includes complete backfiles digitized from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition), with full page images
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. - JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
- Project MuseProvides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
- Oxford Art OnlineProvides a single portal for searching across several major art encyclopedias and dictionaries, including Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Entries include bibliographies for further research, images, and often examples of artists' signatures.
- Vogue ArchiveA complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
- Women's Magazine ArchiveFull-text archive of scanned color cover-to-cover reproductions of Redbook, Better Homes & Gardens, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Chatelaine, Redbook, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Seventeen, Town & Country, Women's Day and Women’s International Network News which serve as records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores.
- Europeana fashion collectionsExplore fashion – historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos – from more than 30 European public and private institutions.
Find Articles - Broad Search
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Factiva and Nexis Uni
What is Factiva?
Factiva is an archive of over 32,000 major global newspapers, newswires, industry publications, magazines, reports and other sources. Although its focus is business news, it can be used to locate information on a variety of topics, including politics, current events, trends and government data.
- Search: Search the full text of 14,000 leading business newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts, including:
- National, international and regional newspapers - (e.g. The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Times, El Pais, The Financial Times, The Guardian)
- Magazines, journals and trade publications (e.g., Forbes, Newsweek, The Economist)
- Newswires (e.g., AFP, Reuters, Dow Jones)
- TV and radio podcasts (e.g., BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC)
- News Pages: Browse the headlines, text and sections of major magazines and newspapers worldwide.
- Companies/Markets: Find company profiles, news articles and press releases, corporate financials, and current and historical equity stock quotes and market indices.
- NOTE: A small percentage of sources as well as the Alerts feature are not available to academic libraries.
- Rutgers is limited to 100 simultaneous users of this database.
What can you do with Factiva?
- Get stock quotes
- Track political news
- Find company profiles
- Locate country information
- Curate data for a SWOT analysis
- Read editorials from major news sources
- Obtain industry-specific data from trade publications
- Access full text articles from The Wall Street Journal & The New York Times
What is Nexis Uni?
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources with an interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Connect with us
