FREN 386/CMPL 387 French New Wave Cinema: Background Resources
Background Resources
See also other reference sources via Oxford Reference Online as well as Cambridge Histories Online and Oxford Bibliographies Online (section on French New Wave in French Cinema)
- Literature Resource CenterOffers a wealth of critical and biographical information about more than 120,000 authors from the Classical period to the present. It provides several hundred thousand full text journal articles and other critical essays, thousands of plot summaries and links to authoritative Web sites, over 100,000 author biographies, several thousand author portraits, and the Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature.
- A dictionary of film studies (Oxford U.P.)Written by experts in the field, this dictionary covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations andpractices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries.
- Schirmer encyclopedia of film [print, 4 vols.]Volume 3 has an overview essay on "New Wave."
- International dictionary of films and filmmakers [5 vols.]An older work, but still useful for major films, directors, etc.
Media History Digital Library
The Media History Digital Library is a research portal that provides free and open access to digitized copies of newspapers, magazines, and other materials related to film and media studies. You will find publications on how a film was received, the distribution of French films in the US, and the developments within the French film industry.
MLA is the primary citation style used in the Humanities.
MLA Style Resources
- MLA Style Center
- MLA Style Guide from OWL the Purdue Online Writing Lab
- MLA Format (8th Ed.) Complete guide from EasyBib, a free online citation generator
Citing
Connect with us
