GERM 247 Music, Madness, and Genius: Pathologies of German Musical Fiction: Home

Library Databases vs Google

• Reliability 
  • Anyone can publish their ideas on the internet
  • Information might be out of date since there are no formal reviews in place
  • Information found through Google or other search engines is not evaluated for accuracy 
• Information found in library databases is preferred because:
  • Information is written and reviewed by experts 
  • Information is evaluated for accuracy and reliability
  • Recommended by librarians and faculty
• Relevance
  • Google or other search engines turn up lots of results but have very little to do with your search
  • Google lacks filters
• Library databases are preferred because:
  • You have more control over your search, since filters such as date ranges, languages, and peer reviewed can be applied
  • UNC's library databases are grouped in subjects making it easier to find the appropriate information
• Permanence
  • In ​Google or other search engines content can change or disappear all together
  • Therefore it can not be archived and makes it impossible to verify your information
• Library databases are preferred because:
  • Library databases provide published information that doesn't change over time
  • This information will remain in the databases so that you will have access over a long time and scholars are able to verify your work

Source: https://bethelks.libguides.com/c.php?g=11565&p=61196, Evaluating Internet-Based Information: Library databases vs. search engines, from Bethel College Library.