GERM 349 Wien, München, Berlin. Revolutionen in der deutschen Kunst ca. 1900: Home
Key resources for German literature
- Library catalogSearch the university library catalog to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the collection.
- Interlibrary Loan & Carolina BLUInterlibrary Borrowing(ILB) borrows library materials and obtains copies of articles from other libraries for current UNC-Chapel Hill faculty, students, and staff.
- Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und LiteraturwissenschaftThe premier bibliography covering Western-language studies of German language and literature. Covers books, pamphlets, articles, chapters in books, dissertations and reviews.
- WorldCatOCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
Background sources
Decadence and Literature by
Decadence and Literature explains how the concept of decadence developed since Roman times into a major cultural trope with broad explanatory power. No longer just a term of opprobrium for mannered art or immoral behaviour, decadence today describes complex cultural and social responses to modernity in all its forms. From the Roman emperor's indulgence in luxurious excess as both personal vice and political control, to the Enlightenment libertine's rational pursuit of hedonism, to the nineteenth-century dandy's simultaneous delight and distaste with modern urban life, decadence has emerged as a way of taking cultural stock of major social changes. These changes include the role of women in forms of artistic expression and social participation formerly reserved for men, as well as the increasing acceptance of LGBTQ+ relationships, a development with a direct relationship to decadence. Today, decadence seems more important than ever to an informed understanding of contemporary anxieties and uncertainties.
ISBN: 9781108426244Publication Date: 2019-08-22
- Berlin and Vienna: reassessing their relationship in German cultureTrommler, Frank. "Berlin and Vienna: reassessing their relationship in German culture." German Politics and Society, vol. 23, no. 1, spring 2005, pp. 8+. Gale Literature Resource Center
Berliner und Wiener Moderne Vermittlungen und Abgrenzungen in Literatur, Theater, Publizistik by ISBN: 3205987667Publication Date: 1998
The Berlin Metropolis by
Between 1890 and 1918 the city of Berlin evolved into a commercial and industrial hub that also became an international center for radical new ideas in the visual, performing, and literary arts. Jews were key leaders in developing this unique cosmopolitan culture. Berlin Metropolis: Jews and the New Culture, 1890-1918 vividly documents the many ways that Jewish artists and entrepreneurs participated in this burst of artistic creativity and promoted the emergence of modernism on the international scene. The book and exhibition at The Jewish Museum highlight leading cultural figures such as Max Liebermann, a founder of the Berlin Secession, and Herwarth Walden, who founded Der Sturm; artists such as Ludwig Meidner and Jakob Steinhardt; pioneers of cabaret, theater, and film, including Max Reinhardt and Ernst Lubitsch; art dealers, publishers, and writers; and leading intellectual and political figures such as Martin Buber and Georg Simmel. These and other fascinating individuals are represented by more than 200 diverse objects: paintings, sculpture, drawings, prints, books, letters, posters, graphic arts, theater memorabilia, and film. The book includes eight essays by scholars of German and Jewish culture and art history that provide a truly interdisciplinary interpretation of the Berlin renaissance. The period represented in Berlin Metropolis was a time when Jews were traditionally restricted from participating in major areas of German public life such as the army, government, and the university. But by turning to the "alternative public spheres" characteristic of urban society--galleries, caf#65533;s, journals, theaters, cabarets--they emerged as innovative cultural leaders whose intellectual and artistic impact is still felt today. The exhibition, Berlin Metropolis: Jews and the New Culture, 1890-1918, will be at The Jewish Museum, New York, from November 14, 1999, to March 5, 2000; and the Norton Museum of Art, West Palm Beach, Florida, from April 1 to June 11, 2000.
ISBN: 0520222423Publication Date: 2000-01-11
Cinema by Design by
Art Nouveau thrived from the late 1890s through the First World War. The international design movement reveled in curvilinear forms and both playful and macabre visions and had a deep impact on cinematic art direction, costuming, gender representation, genre, and theme. Though historians have long dismissed Art Nouveau as a decadent cultural mode, its tremendous afterlife in cinema proves otherwise. In Cinema by Design, Lucy Fischer traces Art Nouveau's long history in films from various decades and global locales, appreciating the movement's enduring avant-garde aesthetics and dynamic ideology. Fischer begins with the portrayal of women and nature in the magical "trick films" of the Spanish director Segundo de Chomón; the elite dress and décor design choices in Cecil B. DeMille's The Affairs of Anatol (1921); and the mise-en-scène of fantasy in Raoul Walsh's The Thief of Bagdad (1924). Reading Salome (1923), Fischer shows how the cinema offered an engaging frame for adapting the risqué works of Oscar Wilde and Aubrey Beardsley. Moving to the modern era, Fischer focuses on a series of dramatic films, including Michelangelo Antonioni's The Passenger (1975), that make creative use of the architecture of Antoni Gaudí; and several European works of horror--The Abominable Dr. Phibes (1971), Deep Red (1975), and The Strange Color of Your Body's Tears (2013)--in which Art Nouveau architecture and narrative supply unique resonances in scenes of terror. In later chapters, she examines films like Klimt (2006) that portray the style in relation to the art world and ends by discussing the Art Nouveau revival in 1960s cinema. Fischer's analysis brings into focus the partnership between Art Nouveau's fascination with the illogical and the unconventional and filmmakers' desire to upend viewers' perception of the world. Her work explains why an art movement embedded in modernist sensibilities can flourish in contemporary film through its visions of nature, gender, sexuality, and the exotic.
ISBN: 9780231175036Publication Date: 2017-03-14
Cities Perceived by
Although the social and economic aspects of modern urbanization are readily apparent, the impact of city growth on ideas and attitudes rarely receives the attention it deserves. In Cities Perceived, Andrew Lees fills this research gap by examining a number of trends including the cultural assimilation of European and American urbanization in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries and the common view on the effects of rural and urban migration during the Industrial Revolution. He additionally analyzes the variances among the perceptions of urban life based on decade, country, occupation, and social group. Lees also offers insight on how urban problems both stem from and stimulate the efforts that are intended to address them.
Drawing from a wide range of sources, Lees illuminates the complex fears and enthusiasms aroused by the rapid growth of cities in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. A comparative framework encompasses developments in America as well as in Britain, France, and Germany, in addition to evidence of ambivalent as well as strongly positive attitudes toward urbanization that complement the more familiar theme of hostility common in previous writing.
Cities Perceived is a scholarly overview of one of the fundamental transfor-mations of the age. This groundbreaking work on social and cultural history is essential reading for urban historians and students of literature and sociology.
Andrew Lees has been a member of the Rutgers-Camden faculty since 1974. He teaches broadly in the areas of European and comparative European/American history.
ISBN: 9781626549197Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Das Publikum Wird Immer Besser by
Die revolutionaren Kunstbewegungen im ausgehenden 19. und zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhundert bestanden aus Gruppen oder Einzelpersonen, die sich durch ihre asthetische Praxis ausdrucklich von den herrschenden Gesellschaftsnormen und von den gangigen Vorstellungen von Kunst abgrenzen wollten. Die mit Protest und Provokation verbundene Suche nach einer neuen Funktionsbestimmung der Kunst zielte u.a. auf eine programmatische, radikale Veranderung des bisherigen Verhaltnisses zwischen Kunstler und Offentlichkeit ab. Hauptziel des Bandes ist die Rekonstruktion der allmahlichen Veranderungen von Adressatenfunktion und Publikumsbegriff zwischen Realismus und Avantgarde. Die uberkommene Rolle des Adressaten im kunstlerischen Schaffensprozess wird neu definiert und somit die traditionellen Strukturen des literarischen Kommunikationsprozesses auf den Kopf gestellt. Auch sollen Ausschluss- und Einschlussmechanismen sowie Legitimationsstrategien unter die Lupe genommen werden.
ISBN: 9783412516000Publication Date: 2020-05-11
Fin-de-Siècle Vienna by ISBN: 0394505964Publication Date: 1979-12-12
Jugendstil by
Around 1880, a new decorative style developed in Europa that radically broke with prevailing artistic conventions. Variations of this style included Art Nouveau in France and Arts & Crafts in England. The variety that emerged in German-speaking countries became known as JUGENDSTIL, literally 'youth style', typified by its flowing lines, stylized floral compositions and rich use of detail and colour. The importance and quality of this style is clear: it swiftly came to dominate practically all forms of European applied arts and architecture, and it survived well into the 1920s.
ISBN: 9789057680977Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Metropolis 1890-1940 by
An ideal and welcome reference and reader for students of urbanism, Metropolis 1890-1940 examines perceptions of the city during the dramatic urban growth of this period. Metropolis looks at the policies adopted to deal with the new city and at the views of the city expressed in the art, architecture, literature, cinema, music, and ideology of the time. Internationally known experts discuss case studies of London, Paris, Berlin, the Ruhr, New York, Moscow, and Tokyo, and a postscript brings the reader up to date with a survey of postwar urbanism.
ISBN: 0226780252Publication Date: 1984-02-01
Metropolis Berlin by
Metropolis Berlin: 1880-1940 reconstitutes the built environment of Berlin during the period of its classical modernity using over two hundred contemporary texts, virtually all of which are published in English translation for the first time. They are from the pens of those who created Berlin as one of the world’s great cities and those who observed this process: architects, city planners, sociologists, political theorists, historians, cultural critics, novelists, essayists, and journalists. Divided into nineteen sections, each prefaced by an introductory essay, the account unfolds chronologically, with the particular structural concerns of the moment addressed in sequence—be they department stores in 1900, housing in the 1920s, or parade grounds in 1940. Metropolis Berlin: 1880-1940 not only details the construction of Berlin, but explores homes and workplaces, public spaces, circulation, commerce, and leisure in the German metropolis as seen through the eyes of all social classes, from the humblest inhabitants of the city slums, to the great visionaries of the modern city, and the demented dictator resolved to remodel Berlin as Germania.
ISBN: 9780520270374Publication Date: 2012-11-27
Popular Entertainment, Class, and Politics in Munich, 1900-1923 by
From the turn of the century until 1923, the year of the National Socialist putsch, popular entertainment in Munich reflected the sentiments and ideas of its largely middle-class audience. While industrialization, rapid urbanization, World War I, and the German Revolution of 1918-19 created an atmosphere of turbulent change, performances on Munich's popular stages gave voice to the continuity of several basic attitudes: patriotism; nostalgia for a preindustrial, rural community; hostility toward Jews; and increasing anxiety over social status. In songs, monologues, skits, and one-act plays, popular entertainers articulated views common to Munich's traditional middle class of tradesmen and shopkeepers and its "new" or white-collar middle class of clerks and minor officials. Folksingers Karl Valentin and Weiss Ferdl serve as examples of this relationship between politics and culture. They shared their audience's class background and sympathies, and in the cabarets and music halls their songs dealt with vexed social and political issues. This intriguing book in cultural history adds to our understanding of social conditions preparing the way for political change. A model case study, it explores the roots of Nazism in a large urban setting.
ISBN: 0674689852Publication Date: 1982-11-12
Rethinking Vienna 1900 by
Fin-de-siècle Vienna remains a central event in the birth of the century's modern culture. Our understanding of what happened in those key decades in Central Europe at the turn of the century has been shaped in the last years by an historiography presided over by Carl Schorske's Fin de Siècle Vienna and the model of the relationship between politics and culture which emerged from his work and that of his followers. Recent scholarship, however, has begun to question the main paradigm of this school, i.e. the "failure of liberalism." This volume reflects not only a whole range of the critiques but also offers alternative ways of understanding the subject, most notably though the concept of "critical modernism" and the integration of previously neglected aspects such as the role of marginality, of the market and the larger Central and European context. As a result this volume offers novel ideas on a subject that is of unending fascination and never fails to captivate the Western imagination.
ISBN: 1571811397Publication Date: 2001-10-01
Vienna--Berlin by
This is the first publication to compare and contrast the artistic traditions in Berlin and Vienna during the birth of the Modernist movement. From the beginning of the 20th century to the period between the two world wars, Berlin and Vienna witnessed an explosion of artistic productivity and experimentation. Featuring works by Schiele, Hausmann, Hoffmann, Kokoschka, Dix, Grosz, Liebermann, Kirchner, and others, this volume documents how two very different cities developed artistic traditions that were unique to their individual cultures, while at the same time borrowing from each other's accomplishments. Starting with the Secessionist movements of both cities, this generously illustrated volume compares and contrasts Berlin's realism with Vienna's ornamentalism. World War I led to greater proximity between the two nations and to active artistic exchanges between them, both in relation to the rise of the Neue Sachlichkeit or New Objectivity and, in particular, in the context of stagecraft. Gaining in influence at the same time was Viennese kineticism, whose counterpart in Berlin was the Dada movement, which examined contemporary social issues in a critical and subversive manner. Designed to echo the stylistic elements of the early 20th century, this beautiful and unique book traces an important cultural exchange that helped shape both cities and had lasting effects on the development of modern art.
ISBN: 9783791353296Publication Date: 2013-12-25
The Vienna Secession by ISBN: 3701703884Publication Date: 1987-03-01
Wien und Berlin by
Excerpt from Wien und Berlin: Vergleichendes zur Kulturgeschichte der Beiden Hauptstädte Mitteleuropas Wien osterreiéhischer. Denn die alte Staatsform der deutschen Länder hatte keine städtische Zentrale, und die neuere verlegte das Gewicht der Hauptstädte aus dem alten Kulturland heraus in östliches Kolonial gebiet. Diese Entwicklung bringt es mit sich, dass Deutschland wie Oesterreich über eine grosse Reihe von Städten verfugen, in denen die Geschichte selb ständig wirksames Leben aufgespeichert hat. Sodass die heutigen Regierungszentren bei aller Wucht des organisatorischen Prinzips doch niemals auch nur ent fernt das ganze Leben der beiden Länder in sich zu sammen fassen können. Freilich sind die beiden Hauptstädte, obwohl sie das nationale Kulturleben nicht erschöpfend darstellen, doch von grosser, kul tureller Bedeutung für alles, was dem Lande möglich oder unmöglich sein muss. Und gerade dass sie von vornherein an der Peripherie des alten Kulturwerkes lagen, dass ihre Bedeutung erwuchs, weil sie Residenz auch für ausserdeutsche Gebiete waren (weder die Länder der altpreussischen noch der ungarischen Krone gehörten je zum "reich) gerade das dürfte in den beiden Städten die Fähigkeit vorgebildet haben, im Mittelpunkt einer so ubernationalen Bildung zu funktionieren, wie Mitteleuropa es sein muss. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
ISBN: 9780666904997Publication Date: 2019-02-15
Librarian
Connect with us
