Germ 227 Luther and the Bible: German Reformation Literature: Home
What is on this course page?
On this page you will find resources and research tips for this course.
Books
Early Modern German Literature, 1350-1700 by
Early Modern German Literature provides an overview of major literary figures and works, socio-historical contexts, philosophical backgrounds, and cultural trends during the 350 years between the first flowering of northern humanism around 1350 and the rise of a distinctly middle-class, anti-classical aesthetics around 1700. Recent scholarship has significantly revised many traditional assumptions about the literature of this period, starting with a reassessment of the canon. The notion of "literature" has expanded to include a much wider range of texts than before, such as broadsheets, illustrated books, emblem books, travelogues, demonological treatises, and letters. Greater attention to the cultural and social phenomena that affect literary production has led to hitherto neglected areas of research, including the culture of learning and learnedness; the idea of authorship; the relationship between the intellectual elite and the state and other political authorities and institutions; the development of the family; gender dichotomy; and the early formation of an educated, urban middle class. In an introduction and twenty-seven essays on specific but broadly-based topics of seminal importance to the period, written by leading specialists from North America, the United Kingdom, and Germany, this pathbreaking volume reflects this state-of-the-art research.Contributors: Klaus Garber, Graeme Dunphy, Renate Born, Stephan Füssel, Scott Dixon, Wilhelm Külmann, Max Reinhart, joachim Knape, Hans-Gert Roloff, Erika Rummel, John Alexander, Peter Hess, Andreas Solbach, Peter Daly, Helen Watanabe-O'Kelly, Jill Bepler, Gerhart Hoffmeister, Steven Saunders, jeffrey Chipps Smith, Wolfgang Neuber, Gerhild Scholz Williams, Anna Carrdus, John L. Flood, Laurel Carrington, Theodor Verweyen, John Roger PaasMax Reinhart is Professor of German at the University of Georgia.
ISBN: 9781571132475Publication Date: 2007-10-29
The Faustian Century by
The Reformation and Renaissance, though segregated into distinct disciplines today, interacted and clashed intimately in Faust, the great figure that attained European prominence in the anonymous 1587 Historia von D. Johann Fausten. The original Faust behind Goethe's great drama embodies a remote culture. In his century, Faust evolved from an obscure cipher to a universal symbol. The age explored here as "the Faustian century" invested the Faustbuch and its theme with a symbolic significance still of exceptional relevance today. The new essays in this volume complement one another, providing insights into the tensions and forces that gave the century its distinct character. Several essays seek Faust's prototypes. Others elaborate the symbolic function of his figure and discern the resonance of his tale in conflicting allegiances. This volume focuses on the intersection of historical accounts and literary imaginings, on shared aspects of the work and its times, on concerns with obedience and transgression, obsessions with the devil and curiosity about magic, and quandaries created by shifting religious and worldly authorities. Contributors: Marguerite de Huszar Allen, Kresten Thue Andersen, Frank Baron, Günther Bonheim, Albrecht Classen, Urs Leo Gantenbein, Karl S. Guthke, Michael Keefer, Paul Ernst Meyer, J. M. van der Laan, Helen Watanabe-O'Kelly, Andrew Weeks. J. M. van der Laan is Professor of German and Andrew Weeks is Professor of German and Comparative Literature, both at Illinois State University.
ISBN: 9781571135520Publication Date: 2013-02-01
For the Sake of Simple Folk by
In this book R. W. Scribner provides the first detailed analysis of the forms of propaganda - such as illustrated broadsheets, picture books, title pages, and book illustrations - which were aimed at the illiterate and semi-literate during the Reformation, and reproduces many of the vastcorpus of prints which still survive in scattered locations in Germany.Dr Scribner advances new and original interpretations of these illustrations, revealing how visual propaganda exploited popular belief and the coarser aspects of popular culture, while at the same time being a product of them. This, he suggests, explains why the Reformation appealed to the broadmasses of sixteenth-century people, even though the propaganda was unable to educate them in the more complex theological aspects of the Reformation message.As well as raising important questions about the Reformation as a religious phenomenon, the book is a contribution to the understanding of early modern popular culture, and the nature of propaganda in a pre-industrial society; it is also a detailed historical study of the sixteenth-century woodcut.In develolping an interdisciplinary analysis combining the methods of iconography, semiology, sociology, and folklore, Dr Scribner presents a fruitful new approach to the study of popular mentalities. Hailed as a pioneering study of great importance on its original publication in 1981, For the Sakeof Simple Folk is now available in paperback for the first time, with a new Introduction and additional chapter.'The reproduction of such a formidable body of "documentation" in the text is a major achievement . . . important and pioneering study', Journal of Ecclesiastical History
ISBN: 0198203268Publication Date: 1994-12-01
Literature and Religion in the German-Speaking World by
The relationship between literature and religion in German is unique in the European tradition. It is essential to the definition of German, Austrian and Swiss cultural identity in both the Protestant and Catholic traditions, and is crucial to our understanding of what has been called the 'special path' of German intellectual life. Offering in-depth essays by leading scholars, Literature and Religion in the German-Speaking World analyses this relationship from the beginnings of vernacular literature in German, via the Reformation, early-modern and Enlightenment periods, to the present day. It shows how such fundamental concepts as 'subjectivity', 'identity' and 'modernity' itself arise from the interrelation between religious and secular modes of understanding, and how this interrelation is inseparable from its expression in literature.
ISBN: 9781108284622Publication Date: 2019-09-14
Literature of Luther by
Given the upcoming five-hundred-year anniversary of Luther's ninety-five theses, it is appropriate to reflect on the impact of Luther's ideas. This collection of essays, which began as conference papers on the literature of Luther, seeks to initiate conversations on the many and varied receptions of the reformer. Most of the essays are interdisciplinary, crossing boundaries between literature, history, and theology. Both Catholic and Protestant voices are well represented. The topics covered are wide-ranging so that for any interested reader several essays will likely strike a chord.
ISBN: 9781625645296Publication Date: 2014-11-05
Brand Luther by
When Martin Luther posted his 'theses' on the door of the Wittenberg church in 1517, protesting corrupt practices, he was virtually unknown. Within months, his ideas spread across Germany, then all of Europe; within years, their author was not just famous, but infamous, responsible for catalyzing the violent wave of religious reform that would come to be known as the Protestant Reformation and engulfing Europe in decades of bloody war. Luther came of age with the printing press, and the path to glory of neither one was obvious to the casual observer of the time. Printing was, and is, a risky business-the questions were how to know how much to print and how to get there before the competition. Pettegree illustrates Luther's great gifts not simply as a theologian, but as a communicator, indeed, as the world's first mass-media figure, its firstbrand. He recognized in printing the power of pamphlets, written in the colloquial German of everyday people, to win the battle of ideas. But that wasn't enough-not just words, but the medium itself was the message. Fatefully, Luther had a partner in the form of artist and businessman Lucas Cranach, who together with Wittenberg's printers created the distinctive look of Luther's pamphlets. Together, Luther and Cranach created a product that spread like wildfire-it was both incredibly successful and widely imitated. Soon Germany was overwhelmed by a blizzard of pamphlets, with Wittenberg at its heart; the Reformation itself would blaze on for more than a hundred years. Publishing in advance of the Reformation's 500th anniversary,Brand Lutherfuses the history of religion, of printing, and of capitalism-the literal marketplace of ideas-into one enthralling story, revolutionizing our understanding of one of the pivotal figures and eras in human history.
ISBN: 9781594204968Publication Date: 2015-10-27
Lutheran Ecclesiastical Culture, 1550-1675 by
Literature on confessionalization has opened new vistas for considering early-modern Christianity and its place in Western social-political contexts, but the ecclesiastical cultures of the period need further research and analysis to refine our focus on how Christians lived in their own communities and related to society at large. This volume's essays assess eight elements of Lutheran life (its foundation in sixteenth-century processing of Luther's legacy, university teaching, preaching, catechesis, devotional literature, popular piety, church and society, church and secular government) and two geographical areas (Nordic and Baltic lands, the kingdom of Hungary) to orient readers to current scholarly discussion and suggest further avenues for exploration and evaluation. Each offers perspectives on Lutherans' attempts to practise their faith in the world. Contributors are: Kenneth Appold, Gerhard Bode, Susan Boettcher, Christopher Boyd Brown, Robert Christman, David Daniel, Irene Dingel, Robert von Friedeburg, Mary Jane Haemig, and Eric Lund.
ISBN: 9789004166417Publication Date: 2008-08-31
Call Numbers in Davis Library
Articles
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceIter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources. (Vendor Website)
- ATLA Religion DatabaseA major index to journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in the field of religion. The ATLA Religion Database covers over 1,400 journals, including over 600 being currently indexed, and nearly 16,000 collections of essays.
The equivalent print indexes are- Religion Index One: periodicals, 1949-present;
- Religion Index Two: multi-author works, 1960-present;
- Research in Ministry, 1981-1996;
- Index to Book Reviews in Religion, 1949-present;
- and Methodist Reviews Index, 1818-1985.
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. - MLA International BibliographyA major index for literary criticism, linguistics, folklore & cultural studies. Includes articles from several thousand journals and series published worldwide. Also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Also searchable under "Criticism" within Literature Online.
Primary sources
The Library of Leander Van Ess and the Earliest American Collections of Reformation Pamphlets by ISBN: 9780914930181Publication Date: 2007-01-01
- Finding Primary Source MaterialsThis is a selective guide to finding primary source materials for historical research.
When you search the library catalog, begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant resources. Keyword terms used to find primary sources can include:
| - Personal narratives | - Diaries |
| - Correspondence | - Letters |
| - Interviews | - Autobiography |
| - Memoirs | - Maps |
| - Pamphlets | - Speeches |
| - Sources | - Archives |
| - Archival Resources |
Other resources
- Medieval Sourcebook Selected Sources: ReformationWebsites created by Fordham University
- Project WittenbergSelected works of Martin Luther
- North Carolina Collection - Wilson LibraryThe North Carolina Collection is dedicated to preserving literary, visual, and artifactual materials illustrating four centuries of the colony and state of North Carolina.
Lutherans in North Carolina
Finding Books
- Keyword: Lutheran Church - North Carolina - History
- Germans - North Carolina - History
- Lutherans - North Carolina - Biography
Carnival plays and drama
Literary Studies and the Pursuits of Reading by
Thirty years ago, when theory emerged as integral to literary studies, investigations into the nature of reading dominated academic criticism. Since then, as cultural studies and historical approaches have gained ascendancy, critical focus on reading has waned. This collection of new essays by leading scholars of German and comparative literature, inspired by the work of the long-time and influential scholar of reading Clayton Koelb, puts the study of reading back at center stage, considering current theory on reading, emotion, and affect alongside historical investigations into cultural practices of reading as they have changed over time. Topics addressed include ancient practices of magic reading; Christian conversionary reading; the emergence of silent reading in the Middle Ages; Renaissance ekphrastic reading; homeopathy, reading and Romanticism; and German-Jewish reading cultures in the nineteenth century. The volume will be of interest to scholars and students of literary criticism, German Studies, comparative literature, and European history.Contributors: Richard V. Benson, Stanley Corngold, Eric Downing, Darryl Gless, Ruth V. Gross, Jonathan Hess, Janice Hewlett Koelb, Alice Kuzniar, Ann Marie Rasmussen, Jeffrey L. Sammons, Gary Shapiro, Kathryn Starkey, Christopher Wild.Eric Downing is Hanes Distinguished Term Professor of German, English, and Comparative Literature at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. Jonathan M. Hess is Professor of German and Moses M. and Hannah L. Malkin Distinguished Term Professor of Jewish History and Culture at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Richard V. Benson is Visiting Assistant Professor of German at Valparaiso University.
ISBN: 9781571134318Publication Date: 2012-09-17
Persistence of Folly by
Joel B. Lande's Persistence of Folly challenges the accepted account of the origins of German theater by focusing on the misunderstood figure of the fool, whose spontaneous and impish jest captivated audiences, critics, and playwrights from the late sixteenth through the early nineteenth century. Lande radically expands the scope of literary historical inquiry, showing that the fool was not a distraction from attempts to establish a serious dramatic tradition in the German language. Instead, the fool was both a fixture on the stage and a nearly ubiquitous theme in an array of literary critical, governmental, moral-philosophical, and medical discourses, figuring centrally in broad-based efforts to assign laughter a proper time, place, and proportion in society. Persistence of Folly reveals the fool as a cornerstone of the dynamic process that culminated in the works of Lessing, Goethe, and Kleist. By reorienting the history of German theater, Lande's work conclusively shows that the highpoint of German literature around 1800 did not eliminate irreverent jest in the name of serious drama, but instead developed highly refined techniques for integrating the comic tradition of the stage fool.
ISBN: 9781501727108Publication Date: 2018-12-15
Librarian
Finding books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Library of Congress Subject Headings within the full record tab and follow those links to find related books.
You can also refine your search by using the features on the left side of the screen.
- Keyword: Luther, Martin, 1483-1546
- Associated subjects: Lutheran Church - Doctrines
- Associated subjects: Bible - Criticism, Interpretation
- Keyword: German literature
- Associated subjects: German literature - Early modern, 1500-1700 - History and criticism
- Associated subjects: German literature - Middle High German, 1050-1500 - History and criticism
**Tip for browsing the stacks**
Important Library of Congress Classification Ranges for your research
BR 331 (floor 3 in Davis Library) Luther, Martin, 1483-1546. Works.
PT 238 (floor 8 in Davis Library) German Literature, early modern
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Connect with us
