HIST 178H: Liberalism, Socialism and Fascism in Europe: Articles and Books
Finding Books
For Fall 2020, Books and materials from other campus libraries, including videos from the Media & Design Center, will be available through the library pickup service.
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books. You can also refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. If you are looking for online sources only, narrow down your search by clicking the box next to the "available online" facet.
To find primary resources, you can add any of the following keywords to your search: letters, diaries, speeches, newspaper articles, autobiographies, oral histories, government and organizational records, statistical data, maps, photographs, motion pictures, sound recordings, advertisements, and artifacts.
- Keyword: Socialism -- Europe -- History
- Associated Subject Heading: Europe -- Politics and government -- 20th century
- Associated Subject Heading: Welfare state -- Cross-cultural studies
- Keyword: Universal Health Insurance
- Associated Subject Heading: Health Care Reform -- History
- Associated Subject Heading: Medically Uninsured
- Associated Subject Heading: Medical care -- Europe
- WorldCatOCLC's WorldCat is the world's largest union catalog containing of millions bibliographic records for items in the collections of thousands of libraries from many countries. This database includes all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries in several hundred languages.
Political Ideologies by
Political Ideologies provides a wide-ranging introduction to classical and contemporary political ideologies. Adopting a global outlook, it introduces readers to both the increasingly global reach and the national variations of ideologies. Importantly, ideologies are presented as frameworks ofinterpretation and political commitment, encouraging readers to evaluate how ideologies work in practice, the problematic links between ideas and political action, and the impact of ideologies.
ISBN: 9780198727859Publication Date: 2017-07-25
The Oxford Handbook of the Welfare State by
The Oxford Handbook of the Welfare State is a definitive guide to the contemporary welfare state. In a volume consisting of nearly fifty newly-written chapters, a broad range of the world's leading scholars offer a comprehensive account of everything one needs to know about the modern welfare state. The book is divided into eight sections. It begins with an evaluation of the philosophical case for (and against) a welfare state. Surveys of the welfare state's history and of the approaches taken to its study are followed by four extended sections, running to some thirty-five chapters in all, which offer a comprehensive and in-depth survey of our current state of knowledge across the whole range of issues that the welfare state embraces. The first of these sections looks at inputs and actors (including the roles of parties, unions, and employers), the impact of gender and religion, patterns of migration and a changing public opinion, the role of international organisations and the impact of globalisation. The next two sections cover policy inputs (in areas such as pensions, health care, disability, care of the elderly, unemployment, and labour market activation) and their outcomes (in terms of inequality and poverty, macroeconomic performance, and retrenchment). The seventh section consists of seven chapters which survey welfare state experience around the globe (and not just within the OECD). Two final chapters consider questions about the global future of the welfare state. The individual chapters of the Handbook are written in an informed but accessible way by leading researchers in their respective fields giving the reader an excellent and truly up-to-date knowledge of the area under discussion. Taken together, they constitute a comprehensive compendium of all that is best in contemporary welfare state research and a unique guide to what is happening now in this most crucial and contested area of social and political development.
ISBN: 9780199579396Publication Date: 2010-09-10
Contested Welfare States by
The welfare state is a trademark of the European social model. An extensive set of social and institutional actors provides protection against common risks, offering economic support in periods of hardship and ensuring access to care and services. Welfare policies define a set of social rights and address common vulnerabilities to protect citizens from market uncertainties. But over recent decades, European welfare states have undergone profound restructuring and recalibration. This book analyzes people's attitudes toward welfare policies across Europe, and offers a novel comparison with the United States. Occupied with normative orientations toward the redistribution of resources and public policies aimed at ameliorating adverse conditions, the book focuses on the interplay between individual welfare attitudes and behavior, institutional contexts, and structural variables. It provides essential input into the comparative study of welfare state attitudes and offers critical insights into the public legitimacy of welfare state reform.
ISBN: 9780804782524Publication Date: 2012-08-29
Statistical Sources for Social Research on Western Europe, 1945-1995 by
The intention of this book is to give a picture of the complex material that has been published in the field of social and econornic statistics in Western Europe. Although there are many guides, bibliographies and reference books on special topics of this broad theme, a general overview has been missing. With this book I hope to fill this gap. The frame of reference is a scientific one: enabling and facilitating comparative social research on Western Europe. In some respect this book enlarges and updates the bibliography written by Peter Flora, "Quantitative Historical Sociology", pub lished in "Current Sociology" in 1975. In principle, this guide is an annotated bibli ography of the most important printed material in the field of official statistics. The legitimacy of such an approach lies in the fact that even today printed statistics are the most important form of dissemination of statistical results, although microcom puters, CD-ROMs and the Internet have changed this situation. In any case, a spe cial section on statistical databases is included for every country, describing the main databases of the statistical offices. Furthermore, the Internet address of each international or national statistical institute is provided in the introductory para graph. This enables the reader to get fast access to online databases and supple mentary online information on statistics via the Internet.
ISBN: 3810020478Publication Date: 1998-01-31
Health Care Systems Around the World by
This concise reference provides a one-stop point of research that examines major aspects of health care systems for over 190 countries worldwide. In a consistent format, ten major health care categories are systematically examined for each country:
ISBN: 9781452203126Publication Date: 2013-08-23
The Health Care Dilemma by
In an age of spiraling costs, it is no surprise that health care policy and health care systems are now among the most hotly debated and controversial topics in many countries of the world today. The issue is literally one of life-and-death, and affects millions across the globe as they struggle to answer the question of who pays for their health care. This book explores the health care systems of Denmark, Germany and Sweden, and compares them with the system in the United States through 30 first-hand case reports by advanced medical students taking part in an international exchange program. It also describes how these health care systems have developed and how they differ - which are essential background reading for anyone making decisions on health care policy in these countries. The aim is to provide a resource for professors and students of public health policy, medicine, nursing, allied health professions, social sciences and other disciplines as they explore the social, political and cultural effects on health care and health care systems. The case studies are also interesting and provide ample food-for-thought for the general readership who are the end-users of health care and who are often able to influence public health policy. All royalties derived from the sale of this book are contributed to the Harvard Macy Institute in support of the worldwide community of health care professionals innovating through education.
ISBN: 9789814313971Publication Date: 2010-11-12
Reforming the Welfare State by
This book introduces a unique, new dataset on welfare state reforms in the UK, Denmark, Finland, France and Germany from 1974 to 2014. Using a variety of welfare state types in Europe, the authors have systematically investigated core questions that have preoccupied the welfare state literature at least since the 1990s. These include the extent of path dependency in mature welfare states, the usage of so-called "invisible" policy instruments for hiding cutbacks, and the role of partisanship - on whether the ideological color of the incumbent affects policy - which have been analysed in depth by examining the new dataset presented in this book. This text will be of key interest to scholars, students and practitioners studying, and working in, welfare and the welfare state, and more broadly to political science, sociology and social policy.
ISBN: 9781138482227Publication Date: 2019-12-19
Marginalized Groups, Inequalities and the Post-War Welfare State by
Examining the ways in which societies treat their most vulnerable members has long been regarded as revealing of the bedrock beliefs and values that guide the social order. However, academic research about the post-war welfare state is often focused on mainstream arrangements or on one social group. With its focus on different marginalized groups: migrants and people with disabilities, this volume offers novel perspectives on the national and international dimensions of the post-war welfare state in Western Europe and North America.
ISBN: 9781138388826Publication Date: 2019-10-24
Finding Articles and Dissertations
Here is a reminder of different types of journals.
The databases listed below are starting points for finding journal articles for many topics of historical research.
- Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. - JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
We have additional History databases, as well as hundreds covering other fields.
- Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
- Anthropology PlusProvides citations and links to journal articles, reports, and commentaries for the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology; also for ethnology, archaeology, folklore and material culture.
- Country Studies/Area Handbooks (Library of Congress)Contains the online versions of books previously published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army.
- Issues and Controversies on FileContains full text articles on current topics of interest, arranged in opposing points of view. It is intended to give users a quick grasp of the essentials of more than 250 controversial news topics. It also contains chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online Provides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity. Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations.
- Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides indexing and abstracts of the international journal literature in political science and related fields, including public administration and policy, law, and international relations.
Connect with us
