Skip to main content

Japan Studies: Home

What is in this guide?

This guide is intended to assist researchers looking for information about Japanese studies. It also provides links to resources and information outside of our collections.

Get Started

Collection Overview

Online Resources

Government & Statistics

News & Multimedia

Other

If you are looking for materials to learn or teach Japanese language, go to our Resources for Japanese Language Learning and Teaching.

If you have questions or suggestions about this guide, and/or want to set up a research consultation appointment, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Faces of Japan

a sculpture representing a pumpkin, modern art in Naoshima.

Naoshima

Kagawa

high-school baseball players are standing line

Koshien

Nishinomiya (Kobe)

discharge water from a dam

Hōnen'ike Dam

Kagawa prefecture

Young people performing eisa,  an Okinawan traditional dance

Eisa

Okinawa

beautiful landscape of Mount Iwate

Mt. Iwate

Iwate prefecture

a traditional arcade in Kanagawa, Japan

Shotengai

Kanagawa prefecture

 

bullet train, about to pass a station

Nozomi

Shinkansen bullet train

 

Ramen, Japanese noodle

Ramen

Chinese-style noodles

thinly sliced pork, dipped in the hot water, Shabu shabu

Shabu Shabu

Hot-pot dish

raccoon dogs potteries in Shiga

Shigaraki Tanuki

Shiga prefecture

UNC subscribed materials

     

Online web archive JapanKnowledge logo

Online web archive that boasts the largest corpus of encyclopedia, dictionaries, reference compilations, and periodical resources (approximately 50 different sources) in Japan.

 

search site logo

The site provides access to full-text search of major Japanese newspapers from the past 30 years, including profiles of 1.2 million public and private

companies. 

 

Bilingual magazine of Japanese language and culture logo

Monthly bilingual magazine of Japanese language and culture.

East Asian Librarian

Hsi Chu Bolick's picture
Hsi Chu Bolick
Contact:
Davis Library Global Resources & Area Studies
Office hours: by appointments
(919) 962-3651
Website

Assistant to the East Asian Librarian

Lily Kirkhoff's picture
Lily Kirkhoff
Contact:
208 Raleigh Street, Davis Library CB #3918
(919) 962-1278
Website
  • Last Updated: Sep 23, 2020 10:48 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/Japan_Studies