Skip to main content

Latinx Life in North Carolina: Community and Culture

Published Resources

Going to Carolina del Norte: Narrating Mexican Migrant Experiences
By Todd Drake and Hannah E. Gill

Drake and Gill present narratives of people who currently live in Carrboro, N.C., but migrated from Ceyala, Mexico. Photographs of individuals and community life are included. The authors also include an essay to provide context for life in Ceyala, the many reasons for leaving, and life in Carrboro.

Neighborhood Voices: New Immigrants in Northeast Central Durham / Voces del Barrio: Nuevos Immigrantes en Noreste Central de Durham
Edited and written by Jill Hemming, Alicia J. Rouverol, Angela Hornsby, with Katushka Olave and Jacqueline Wagstaff

This pamphlet provides a brief history of the changing population in Northeast Central Durham and short first person narratives that discuss the future of the community. Narrative entries are displayed in Spanish and English, and some photographs are included.

Spanish Language Periodicals

The following are Spanish language periodicals published in communities around North Carolina. The publications can be found in the North Carolina Collection.

Circulo de Cultura Panamericano, Capítulo de Charlotte, N.C. 
Published: Charlotte, N.C. 
Call number: C810.8 C578L

 

Conexión: La Voz de la Comunidad 
Published: Raleigh, N.C. 
Call number: FC325 C747c

 

El Hispano 
Published: Charlotte, N.C. 
Call number: Cp369.8 H673s

El Informador 
Published: Raleigh, N.C. 
Call number: C325 I43i

El Túnel 
Published: Raleigh, N.C. 
Call number: C325 T926t

 

Estamos Unidos 
Published: Clayton, N.C. 
Call number: FC325 E79e

 

La Noticia 
Published: Charlotte, N.C. 
Call number: FC325 N912e

 

La Voz de Alamance 
Published: Burlington, N.C. 
Call number: C071 V977f

 

La Voz de Carolina 
Published: Raleigh, N.C. 
Call number: FFC325 V977p1

 

Nuevas Páginas 
Published: Charlotte, N.C. 
Call number: C810.8 N964L

 

Pa'lante 
Published: Carrboro, N.C. 
Call number: FC325 P154p

 

Que Pasa 
Published: Winston-Salem, N.C. 
Call number: FFC325 Q3

La Voz del Pueblo 
Published: Chapel Hill, N.C. 
Call number: FCp071 V977p

Photographs and Video Resources

Paul Cuadros Photographic Collection, 1993-2001 (bulk 1999-2001)
Paul Cuadros

The Paul Cuadros Photographic Collection is primarily composed of images related to the Latino immigrant community in central North Carolina, particularly in Siler City. Cuadros lived in Siler City and took the photos while researching Latino migration to the American South. The subjects of the images include the living conditions of immigrants; poultry and agricultural workers, including injured poultry workers; social and community events such as quinceaneras and festivals; religious events, including a passion play; children in school, including a contentious meeting of the Siler City School Board in September 1999; and anti-immigration rallies, including one led by David Duke in February 2000 and the response to that rally. The collection also includes images from outside of Siler City and from of outside North Carolina. View the Finding Aid, a guide describing the contents of the collection. 

Nuestra Comunidad: Latinos in North Carolina (DVD)
New South Productions

This video examines the Latino population explosion in North Carolina. Several Latino immigrants introduce themselves, tell where they are from, and explain why they came to North Carolina. Many describe monetary hardships in their native countries and the financial difficulties they experienced when they came to the United States. Others recount their success stories as residents of North Carolina.

New Faces: Latinos in North Carolina; A Media-based Curriculum Project (DVD)
Wilmington, N.C.: Working Films, 2006

This multi-media project discusses the economic and cultural contributions of Latino immigrants in North Carolina. Numerous aspects of Latin American immigration to the state are discussed, including education, family and community life, and youth. Particular attention is given to the labor systems of farm and migrant workers, and its impact at the individual and community levels. There is a textual lesson plan that accompanies the DVD that can be found online at the project's website or in paper format in the North Carolina Collection.

Education

The NC Society of Hispanic Professionals is an organization with the mission of promoting the education of Hispanic students at all scholastic levels. They have produced some materials for educational use that can be found at the link above. Wilson Special Collections Library holds some of the organization's records which can be found here.
  • Last Updated: Nov 2, 2020 12:11 AM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/NC-Latinx