Introduction to Library Services and Resources for Social Work: Articles
Relevant Databases
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- PsycInfoDatabase from the American Psychological Association covering the academic research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.) from over 60 countries in more than 29 languages. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- Social Services AbstractsSocial Services Abstracts indexes and abstracts current journals and other periodicals in the disciplines of social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Social Work AbstractsThe Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains records, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive source of current and historical U.S. Congressional material, including bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Code, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
- Sociological AbstractsDatabase covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
- ERICProduced by the Educational Resource Information Center, ERIC provides indexing and abstracting for journal and report literature (1966 to the present) in education and related disciplines.
Can't see the full text? Try Find@UNC
If an article search comes back that we don't have an item:
1) click the 
button
2) if available, click an article link, if not, click the journal link
3) if none are available, you can request the article via interlibrary loan or contact the library
Constructing your search
Database searching tips
When searching in databases, try these handy tips for better results:
- use wildcard characters. If searching for information about children, type the word child* with an astericks. That will return children, childhood and any other word that starts with child.
- use quotes. When searching for a phrase, quotes will search for the words when they're next to each other.
- use Boolean phrasing ("and," "or," "not"). "And" and "not" will narrow your search, but "or" will broaden it.
This video from The Ohio State University Libraries goes into more detail (Creative Commons Attribution license)
Peer Review
Connect with us
