AAAD 254: African Americans in North Carolina (Porter): Primary Sources
Primary Sources at UNC
There are a number of UNC collections that provide access to primary source materials relevant to the study of African Americans in North Carolina. In addition to in-person consultations, many UNC collections provide online access to documents and other artifacts.
- North Carolina Collection (NCC)The North Carolina Collection is dedicated to preserving literary, visual, and artifactual materials illustrating four centuries of the colony and state of North Carolina. The collection comprises three divisions: the Research Library, North Carolina Collection Gallery, and Photographic Archives.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyContains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. See web site's "Database Description" for detailed information about individual newspapers. (Source: vendor website.)
- From Slavery to Freedom: the African-American Pamphlet Collection 1824-1909 (Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Library of Congress)Presents 397 pamphlets from the Library of Congress Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1824 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics. The materials range from personal accounts and public orations to organizational reports and legislative speeches. Among the authors represented are Frederick Douglass, Kelly Miller, Charles Sumner, Mary Church Terrell, and Booker T. Washington. From Slavery to Freedom complements African-American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection, 1818-1907.
Primary Sources Online
- Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915. Plantation RecordsAnte-bellum Southern plantation records such as journals, crop books, account books, diaries, and letters document the lives of both owners and slaves. Material is drawn from major repositories across the South, including the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
- The Atlantic Stave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record (UVa)The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. We would like to emphasize that little effort is made to interpret the images and establish the historical authenticity or accuracy of what they display.
- Antislavery Collection, 1725-1911The UMass Amherst Antislavery Collection contains several hundred printed pamphlets and books pertaining to slavery and antislavery in New England, 1725-1911. The holdings include speeches, sermons, proceedings and other publications of organizations such as the American Anti-Slavery Society and the American Colonization Society, and a small number of pro-slavery tracts.
Newspapers
The North Carolina Collection's subject clippings file is a collection of articles, primarily from newspapers, on North Carolina-related subjects. There are over 200 pages of clippings relating to Education in North Carolina in the bound volumes.
The clippings are in two sets. The first of these contains articles through 1975, and the second has articles from 1976-1989. Current clippings can be accessed in the North Carolina Collection in the 2nd floor reading room of Wilson Library.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection offers researchers valuable primary sources for such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history; ethnic studies and more. Users can compare and contrast African American views on practically every major theme of the American past.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyContains a wealth of information about the cultural life and history during the 1800s with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day. See web site's "Database Description" for detailed information about individual newspapers. (Source: vendor website.)
Connect with us
