This database combines an array of historical and cultural information about the African American experience with selected primary documents, web sites, and maps. The material is compiled by Oxford University Press from their many reference works, such as Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, various Oxford Companions, and the African American National Biography. N.B.: Oxford databases may be slow to load
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1960 - present
LRC offers a wealth of critical and biographical information about more than 120,000 authors from the Classical period to the present. Use Advanced Search to search the "Person-By or About" field (e.g., for William Wells Brown), then select entries from the "Biographies" tab.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions). Coverage: Classical Period to Present
This reference volume addresses an often overlooked area in the history of the American theatre, the contributions of early black playwrights and dramatic writers. Davis Library Reference (1st Floor, Row 12) PS153.N5 P44 1990
This reference offers thorough critical assessments of the lives and works of African American playwrights from the 19th century to the present. Davis Library Reference (1st floor, Row 12) PS338.N4 A69 2004
Untold Histories looks in detail at the experiences of the average black person in England and Wales during the period of the British slave trade. As well as unique statistical data, there are the life stories of ordinary individuals and how they integrated into society.
By the time of the American Revolution, blacks made up 20 percent of the colonial population. This book discusses the lives of blacks, both slave and free, as they struggled to make homes for themselves among the white European settlers in the New World.
In this third edition of one of the most popular books in our American History Series, Donald Wright works new interpretations into a narrative that provides a clear understanding of the scope and nature of the early African-American experience. Included are discussions of African Americans African origins; the Atlantic slave trade; the origins of slavery and race-based prejudice in the mainland colonies; the evolutionary formation of African-American culture; and the effects of the American Revolution on men and women of African descent, at the time and long thereafter.
The voyage that shaped early America was neither that of the Susan Constant in 1607 nor the Mayflower in 1620. Absolutely vital to the formation of English-speaking America was the voyage made by some sixty Africans stolen from a Spanish slave ship and brought to the young struggling colony of Jamestown in 1619. It was an act of colonial piracy that angered King James I of England, causing him to carve up the Virginia Company's monopoly for virtually all of North America. It was an infusion of brave and competent souls who were essential to Jamestown's survival and success. And it was the arrival of pioneers who would fire the first salvos in the centuries-long African-American battle for liberation. Until now, it has been buried by historians. Four hundred years after the birth of English-speaking America, as a nation turns its attention to its ancestry, The Birth of Black America reconstructs the true origins of the United States and of the African-American experience.
The African American National Biography presents history through a mosaic of the lives of thousands of individuals, illuminating the abiding influence of persons of African descent on the life of this nation from the arrival of Esteban in Spanish Florida in 1529 through to notable black citizens of the present day. Available initially as a handsome eight-volume set containing over 4,000 entries written and signed by distinguished scholars, the AANB continues to grow along with the field of African American biographical research, and continuous updates to the online edition will bring the total number of lives profiled to more than 5,000.
Including more than one million new words, Africana has been completely updated and revised. New entries on African kingdoms have been added, bibliographies now accompany most articles, and the encyclopedia's coverage of the African diaspora in Latin America and the Caribbean has been expanded, transforming the set into the most authoritative research and scholarly reference set on the African experience ever created. More than 4,000 articles cover prominent individuals, events, trends, places, political movements, art forms, business and trade, religion, ethnic groups, organizations and countries on both sides of the Atlantic.
Narrative biographical essays, edited by noted scholar Jessie Carney Smith, discuss each woman's significant achievements and the public response to those achievements. "Book I features approximately 425 entries; "Book II and "Book III each provide approximately 300 additional entries.
Electronic Journals & Databases - Women's Studies
Browse the Women's Studies Journals to which UNC has some electronic access. Titles and periods covered change as journals change format and new archives or packages are acquired.
Publication from the 1800s focused on American women's domestic life, including fashion, recipes and health. Godey's Lady's Book includes book reviews, essays, poetry, short stories, illustrations and sheet music.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: 1830-1898