AAAD 333: Race and Public Policy in the United States (Williams): Welcome
Welcome!
Welcome to the research guide for AAAD 333 "Race and Public Policy in the United States". On this page, you will find general library resources to help you get started on your research!
Image credit: Unknown Title by Lincoln Agnew from Marlena Agency.
Stone Center Library for Black Culture & History
General Information
The Sonja Haynes Stone Center for Black Culture and History Library's collection gathers works on the African American experience and the African Diaspora, with a focus on the social sciences and humanities. The library has a small collection of print periodicals, and provides access to a wide array of electronic journals and databases.
Federal Information Online
- MetaLibA federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases.
- USA.gov by SubjectAlso see USA.gov List of Agencies.
The U.S. government's official web portal, including a comprehensive list of governmental departments and agencies. If you can't find the agency you're looking for, please contact us.
- govinfoGovernment Printing Office govinfo service provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. It links to the U.S. Code, the Federal Register, Federal bills, the Constitution, Congressional documents and more.
Legislative Information
- Congress.govProvides access to legislative information, including the full text of the Congressional Record, a directory of congressional committees and members of Congress, the weekly floor schedule for the House, and a schedule of daily committee hearings.
- House of RepresentativesSee schedules of House proceedings and view live feeds from the House floor. Find information about representatives and committees.
- SenateFeatures information on Senate members, full text of bills introduced in the Senate, reports on the status of bills, voting information, daily information on major floor and committee actions.
- ProQuest CongressionalComprehensive source of current and historical U.S. Congressional material, including bills, testimony, reports, documents, selected prints, the Congressional Record, the U.S. Code, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations.
Judicial Information
- Federal Judiciary HomepageGeneral information about the Judicial Branch of the U.S. Government.
- Supreme CourtProvides access to the Supreme Court's schedule, oral arguments, information about the justices, and full text of recent decisions.
- Supreme Court OpinionsSupreme Court decisions from 1893-present, via FindLaw.
- Decisions of the U.S. Supreme CourtFull-text of decisions for 1990-present, via Cornell's Legal Information Institute.
- LexisNexis Academic (Please see Nexis Uni)LexisNexis Academic has been discontinued and the content moved to Nexis Uni.
Federal Statistics
- FedStats.govThis website provides access to government-produced statistics on a variety of topics, as well as links to the many statistical agencies.
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsProvides information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
- Bureau of Labor StatisticsProvides statistics on labor economics.
- UNC Data ServicesData Services at UNC-CH helps researchers identify, evaluate, and access numeric data.
Connect with us
