An annotated bibliography will list works with brief summaries, and provide subject access either through indexing or layout. A literature review will discuss other works in a narrative format to describe the development and current state of the literature on the subject.
For more information on how to write annotated bibliographies and literature reviews consult the Tips and Tools handouts from The Writing Center.
1. Choosing, exploring, and focusing on a topic
2. Research and collect information
3. Read articles, take notes, shape ideas
4. Keep track of citations using Zotero
5. Write paper, revise, proof-read and include bibliography
Source NCSU Libraries
Scholarly resources have the following features:
1. They are written by experts - look for an author's credentials or affiliations.
2. They are written for other experts or people in academia. Think of each scholarly work as a voice in an ongoing conversation to which you will add your voice when you write a paper.
3. They use scholarly language with technical, discipline specific vocabulary.
4. They provide verifiable and reliable evidence for claims. Even if the resource is a general history/overview it will contain well researched information that the reader can verify.
5. They may be peer reviewed. Many journals go through an editorial process where other experts review and assess the information.
How do you know if a journal is peer reviewed? Some databases will let you check a box to limit to peer reviewed articles. You can also look at the journal's website which will explain the editorial process including whether or not the journal is peer reviewed.
Scholarly articles have certain things in common:
Source: Undergraduate Library - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Library databases are where students and scholars search for scholarly articles, other academic publications, as well as news and magazine articles. The library purchases access to hundreds of databases to support research.
There are two main types of library databases:
Specific, or those that search specific disciplines or areas of study, and
General, or those that search across many disciplines.
Library databases vs google
Source: https://bethelks.libguides.com/c.php?g=11565&p=61196, Evaluating Internet-Based Information: Library databases vs. search engines, from Bethel College Library.
When searching for sources in library databases you will need to use specific search terms known as keywords. Picking the right keywords is an important part of the research process and can affect your search results. Keywords should represent the main concepts in the topic you're exploring. Keywords are single words or short phrases that can be combined in various forms to generate different search results.
Selecting keywords is a multi-step process that involves: