A comprehensive source for international auctions of prints. Online access. See also NE85 .G67in the Art Library (some holdings in the Ackland Print Room and in Storage; 1979-1998) Also available on CD-ROM(1985-2007)
Select the "Request this item" button on the right-hand side of the catalog record.
Also available on CD-ROM (1994-1998; includes coverage from 1987) Over 60,000 sale results arranged alphabetically by artist within chapters devoted to painting, prints, drawings, sculpture and watercolors.
Covers the sale of paintings, pastels, drawings, gouaches and watercolors in all periods across a limited number of auction houses. Primarily U.S. and Western European houses are addressed, but includes other countries, such as Japan, Israel, Russia, and Sweden for some years.
Accessible via the University Libraries:
Artnet Price Database
Note: Available from a terminal within Sloane Art Library only. One user at a time.
An archive of art auction results, hosting over 10 million results spanning more than 30 years, including a total of over 1,700 auction houses and 320,000 artists.
Access: On Campus only. Access is available at one public computer terminal in the Sloane Art Library. No off campus access. Coverage: 1985 - present
Provides over 1.3 million international auction results for Prints, Posters, Illustrated Books, and Picasso Ceramics. These records cover a range of print periods and types, including Old Master, Modern, and Contemporary Fine Prints; Decorative, Historical, Sporting, Topographical, Natural History, Botanical, and Japanese Prints; Fine Art, Vintage and Film Posters; Illustrated books, Livres dArtiste, Books and Periodicals with Original Graphics; Picasso Ceramics. Sale dates coverage is January 1st, 1985 to the present.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users, using a username and password available in the catalog record. Unaffiliated first-time users must access on UNC-Chapel Hill campus and may write down the username, password. Coverage: 1985-present
Fully searchable only with a subscription, but partial searches are possible without one:
Includes Mayer's Guide, a database of 150,000 artists and over 45,000 sales from 950 auction houses 1987 to the present. The site may be used without a subscription, but users are given only minimal information upon entering a query. See also Mayer International Auction Records in the listing to the right.