Being Mortal: Related Information

Discussion Questions

Chat with a librarian

chat loading...

Profile of Older Americans
This annual publication by the U.S. Administration on Aging provides the latest statistics on key aspects of the lives of older adults in the United States.
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics collects statistical health information from a range of data sources. This selection of FastStats on older adults in the United States is divided by topic and includes links to more detailed data.

To learn more about how to find and use health statistics, use this library Guide on Health Data & Statistics.

AgeLine
As you begin to learn more about the science of aging, you may find scholarly articles particularity useful. This database contains a wealth of scholarly resources on aging-related topics across the health science disciplines.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

Academic Journals on Health and Biological Sciences
This list of geriatrics and gerontology journals accessible through the University Libraries provides an array of publications dedicated to the scientific study of aging.

For more help finding academic or scholarly articles, use the library's Guide to Finding Articles.

For more resources on the science of aging, see Health Science Library's Guide on Aging Research .

Aging information from the World Health Organization
The aging information provided by the World Health Organization showcases aging-related issues across the globe, including topics such as long-term care and elder abuse. This website also provides information by region.

Global Health
This database covers a number of public health topics including aging and contains information about more than 150 countries. Try searching by using the country or region of interest and 'geriatrics,' 'old age,' or 'aging' as keywords.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
AnthroSource
For a more social perspective on aging and death worldwide, this anthropology database offers scholarly perspectives on a range of cultures. Try searching by using the country or region of interest and 'death' or 'aging' as keywords.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: late 19th century - present

Partnership in Aging Program
The Partnership in Aging Program is a campus-wide program at The University of North Carolina Chapel Hill that works to foster a local conversation around the topics of aging and end-of-life care.
Division of Aging and Adult Services
The Division of Aging and Adult Services works to promote the independence and enhance the dignity of North Carolina's older adults.