Born in the Bronx by Johan Kugelberg; Joe Conzo (Photographer); Afrika Bambaataa (Foreword by); Buddy Esquire (Contribution by); Jeff Chang (Contribution by)
Publication Date: 2007-11-06
Featuring a timeline and original flyer artwork, as well as photographs, this is a visual guide to the early days of hip-hop and rap music in America.
A 2 Z by Lois Stavsky; Isaac E. Mozeson; Dani R. Reyes
Publication Date: 1995-08-01
"What's the 411? From ace to base, buddha to zooted, this book defines over a thousand words and phrases of hip-hop culture, from obscure regionalisms to terms that have made their way into the mainstream." "This alphabetized collection not only provides definitions, but offers examples and sources for the rap fan, the curious word-lover, and anyone interested in self-expression, creativity, and "the poetry of the streets." With a discography and bibliography, it's the essential rap reference ... from A2Z."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
That's the Joint! by Mark Anthony Neal (Editor); Murray Forman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-08-02
This newly expanded and revised second edition of That's the Joint! brings together the most important and up-to-date hip-hop scholarship in one comprehensive volume. Presented thematically, the selections address the history of hip-hop, identity politics of the "hip-hop nation," debates of "street authenticity," social movements and activism, aesthetics, technologies of production, hip-hop as a cultural industry, and much more. Further, this new edition also includes greater coverage of gender, racial diversity in hip-hop, hip-hop's global influences, and examines hip-hop's role in contemporary politics. With pedagogical features including author biographies, headnotes summarizing key points of articles, and discussion questions, That's the Joint! is essential reading for anyone seeking deeper understanding of the profound impact of hip-hop as an intellectual, aesthetic, and cultural movement.
Provides sophisticated online recommendations to the core scholarship on a subject as determined by experts in the field. Each module constitutes a convenient and comprehensive introduction to the essential body of literature that has shaped research on a topic. At the click of a mouse, you therefore have 24/7 access to expert recommendations that have been rigorously peer-reviewed and vetted to ensure scholarly accuracy and objectivity.
Each OBO subject database allows you to identify the core authors, works, ideas, and debates that have shaped the scholarly conversation so you can find the key literature. All the bibliographic essays have been peer-reviewed, and the specific entries are linked to full-text content available through the web or the UNC Library. The "My OBO" feature also allows you to create a personalized list of citations.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill student, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users
Encyclopedia of sociology terms covering contemporary knowledge and classical sociology with global coverage.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Coverage: Current information only
Encyclopedia of African American Popular Culture by Jessie Carney Smith (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
This four-volume encyclopedia contains compelling and comprehensive information on African American popular culture that will be valuable to high school students and undergraduates, college instructors, researchers, and general readers. * Contains writings from 100 contributing authors, all identified in a separate listing * Includes a chronology placing pivotal events--such as the beginning of black baseball, the modern Civil Rights Movement, and the Harlem Renaissance--in historical context * Depicts key places, events, and people through photographs as well as words * Provides a list of black radio programs and movies
St. James Encyclopedia of Hip Hop Culture by Thomas Riggs
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
"Examines the history and contributions of hip hop to American and global culture"--
The Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture by M. Thomas Inge (Editor); Dennis Hall (Editor)
Publication Date: 2002-11-30
Serious study of popular culture is a fairly recent development, yet scholars in nearly all disciplines now engage with the material culture of the masses.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture by Gale Editor (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
The St. James Encyclopedia Of Popular Culture, 2nd ed., updates and augments the over ten-year-old first edition. It includes 3,036 signed essays (300 of them new), alphabetically arranged, and written or reviewed by subject experts and edited to form a consistent, readable, and straightforward reference. The entries cover topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film; music; print culture; social life; sports; television and radio; and art and performance (which include theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance). The entries analyze each topic or person's significance in and relevance to American popular culture; in addition to basic factual information, readers will gain perspective on the cultural context in which the topic or person has importance.