Skip to main content

MURAP Scholars' Guide to Remote Resources: Databases & Journals

E-Journals

The UNC-CH libraries have access to hundreds of electronic journals that you can look through to help in your research. You can access these journals through the Library's home page under the "Search & Find" tab.

undefined

The E-Journals page on the library website allows you to search for specific journals by title or ISSN/ISBN. It also allows you to browse by subject under several different headings.

Image of online journals search tool

If you know what journal you are looking for, you can search for it by name. If you are unsure of the name or are just starting your search, browsing by subject is likely your best bet. 

Whether you conduct a search by name or look for journals by subject, your results will looks something like this:

undefined

Once you have located a journal that you are interested in, you can search within the journal. 

undefined

Once you enter your search term(s), you will be provided with results from the journal that you selected. 

undefined

Databases

To access our collection of databases, select on "E-Research by Discipline" under the "Search & Find" tab on the Library's home page

undefinedUnder this page, you will see a list of subjects. When you select one of these subjects, you will be taken to a page with recommended databases and descriptions of what these databases have to offer.

undefined

Once you select a database, you enter your search term(s) into the search bar (you may have to log in using your ONYEN before you gain access. 

undefined

You can limit your search using the tool on the left hand of the page. Each database has different options to narrow your results. 

undefined

The other way to search for databases is from an A to Z list of databases. Like the previous method of accessing databases, this page lists all of the available databases and a description of what the database covers. 

  • Last Updated: May 19, 2020 12:04 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/c.php?g=1035119