Skip to main content

MURAP Scholars' Guide to Remote Resources: Special Collections

Digital Collections

Special Collections librarians will help you locate and use digitized special collections, whether the collections are at UNC Chapel Hill or at other locations. Please start your search for special collections and archival materials by emailing wilsonlibrary@unc.edu to connect with a librarian who can discuss your project with you.

While you may not currently have access to the full offerings of UNC's Special Collections and archives at Wilson Library, there are a number of collections that have been digitized that you do still have access to. A list of these collections is available here. This is just a partial list and does not include collections that have not been fully digitized. 

For example, some collections have digitized photographs or sound recordings. You are also able to access the Collections through Wilson's Home Page. From here, you can scroll to the bottom and select which collection you would like to look at. For this example, we will look at the Southern Historical Collection. 

undefined

From here, you will see an overview of the the collection. If you look to the left-hand side of the screen, you will see a link that says "Collections". This will take you to a list of all the collections available. 

undefined

Once you click on this, locate the collection you are interested in. For this example, we will look at the William R. Ferris Collection. 

undefined

Once you select your collection, you will be able to scroll through what is in it and see what in the collection has been digitized. You will be able to view, watch, or listen to any digitized materials once you click on them. 

undefined

  • Last Updated: May 19, 2020 12:04 PM
  • URL: https://guides.lib.unc.edu/c.php?g=1035119