SPAN 747.001: GENDERED IDENTITIES IN 20th- AND 21st-CENTURY LATIN AMERICAN LITERATURE: Newspapers

Historical Newpaper Collections

Latin American and English-language Retrospective Newspapers

Latin American Newspapers
A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Spanish, Portuguese
Latin American Newspapers II
A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Spanish
Paper of Record
A fully searchable digital archive of historical newspapers. The archive contains newspapers from Europe and the Americas, chiefly from the 19th century, but with some running up to the 2000s. Countries included: UK, USA, Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, Ecuador, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, and Mexico.

Note: We are limited to 1 user at a time. Please click on 'Logoff' when you are finished with this resource.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Various
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to about 500 newspapers from localities all across the United States during the 19th Century. Also searchable from within Gale Artemis: Primary Sources.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Times (London) Digital Archive
Digital archive (1785-2019) of the British daily national newspaper, also know as The London Times and The Times of London. Please note that online coverage of The Times after the end date in this archive is available in several sources. Click here for more details.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Gale Primary Sources: British Library Newspapers
A collection of national, regional, and local newspapers from Britain (1732-1950) and Ireland (1797-1950), sourced from the British Library.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

NewspaperCat
A tool that facilitates the discovery of online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.
La Hemeroteca Digital (Biblioteca Nacional Española)
Nineteenth and twentieth century Spanish newspapers.

Current Newspaper Databases

Alt-PressWatch
Alt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 600,000 articles from over 230 publications.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1983-present
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1960 - present
Latin American Newsstream
Latin American Newsstream provides over 100 full text newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese from across Latin America.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: English, Spanish, Portuguese
LexisNexis Academic (Please see Nexis Uni)
LexisNexis Academic has been discontinued and the content moved to Nexis Uni.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. Some of the files go back to the 1970s

New York Times Academic Pass

Overview

The University Libraries, with support from the Kathrine R. Everett Law Library, have partnered with the New York Times to provide students, faculty, and staff with access to NYTimes.com, the NYTimes.com mobile app, and NYT Cooking. Interested users will need to authenticate through accessnyt.com once to set up an account.

Faculty/Staff will be provided with an academic pass valid for 4 years. Students will be provided an academic pass valid until December 31, of the graduation year they select.

Setting up your account

NEW subscribers

Visit accessnyt.com to create an account.
Type in University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and follow the instructions.
If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.

EXISTING registered subscribers with ACTIVE PAID NYT subscription

If you have an active paid subscription, you will first need to cancel your personal subscription. You can do this by connecting with a chat agent on the site or calling 800-698-4637.
After you cancel your paid account, you can follow the directions below to claim your complimentary subscription.

EXISTING registered subscribers that DO NOT HAVE ACTIVE NYT subscription

Visit accessnyt.com to create an account.
Click on "Already have an account "Log In" (Found below "Create An Account").
Input your email address and the same password created for your previous account.
If you encounter any error messages, please email edu@nytimes.com.

Activate NYT Cooking access

NEW! The UNC Library now provides access to NYT Cooking. Log in with your Onyen and click the redeem button to claim your code. You can then log in with your current New York Times account or create a new account.

Additional New York Times resources

The UNC Library provides access to backfile articles in PDF format via New York Times Historical Newspaper. There is no daily limit to the number of articles you can download.

All UNC community members have access to The New York Times in Education, a collection of materials highlighting how The Times can be used to support curricular and extra-curricular learning. Sign up with your UNC email address.

Access restrictions

Access does not include e-reader editions, Premium Crosswords, or The New York Times Crosswords apps. Pass users receive access to the New York Times archives (1851-2002) which includes 5 PDF downloads from the Times Machine per day via timesmachine.nytimes.com/browser. Archive articles outside that date range are not subject to that limit. Digital access is available only during the time that our New York Times Site License is active.

Help

Contact edu@nytimes.com if you have access or registration issues.

Contact Suchi Mohanty (smohanty@email.unc.edu) if you have questions about UNC Chapel Hill's subscription to the New York Times Academic Pass.

The Washington Post

Overview

The University Libraries has partnered with The Washington Post to provide students, faculty, and staff with Digital Subscription access to The Washington Post online and on all apps. This source provides you with expert reporting and analysis from Washington and around the world, including award-winning investigative coverage and editorial commentary. Coverage includes the past 15 years of content.

Accessing The Washington Post

Visit https://www.washingtonpost.com.
Click on Sign In in the upper right-hand corner.
Click on Sign up link in the lower right-hand corner to register a new account.
- Note: if you already have a Washington Post account with your organization's email address, login from The Washington Post home page and proceed to step 5.
After clicking on the Sign up link in the lower right-hand corner, enter your organization's email address and choose a password. Click Create account.
Once you have been redirected to the home page, click on your name in the upper right-hand corner. This will result in the menu being displayed. Click Account settings.
Make sure your email address is Verified. If not, click Unverified to be sent a verification email.
Click on the My subscriptions tab. Click Activate free digital access.
Your subscription is now active and ready to use.

Additional Washington Post Resources

The Washington Post Historical Newspaper offers hundreds of thousands of pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper from 1877 to 1990. Researchers and students can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.

Help

Contact Suchi Mohanty (smohanty@email.unc.edu) if you have questions about UNC Chapel Hill's subscription to The Washington Post.