GLBL 691H: Global Studies Honors Thesis Writing Fall 2022: Home

Bibliographies:

• Human Trafficking (Oxford Bibliographies, 2018)
• Human Trafficking (Oxford Bibliographies, 2011)
• Prostitution (Oxford Bibliographies, 2011)
• Childhood prostitution and pornography (Oxford Bibliographies, 2021

Finding Books (via Library of Congress Subject Headings):

Search UNC/TRLN catalog AND WorldCat.

• Prostitution—Law and legislation
• Prostitution
• Human trafficking
• Sex-oriented businesses
• Prostitutes
• Prostitutes—Legal status, laws, etc.
• Sex workers
• Sex workers—Legal status, laws, etc.
• Computer sex
• Sex and law
• Vice control

Finding Books (via Library of Congress Subject Headings):

Search UNC/TRLN catalog AND WorldCat.

• Banks and banking–Islamic countries (collectively, or sub specific country/region)
• Banks and banking–Religious aspects—Islam
• Finance—Islamic countries
• Finance—Religious aspects—Islam
• Baking law (Islamic law)
• Risk—Islamic countries
• Financial risk management—Islamic countries

Librarians:

• Nancy Lovas, Entrepreneurship and Business Librarian
• Rustin Zarkar, Middle East and Islamic Studies Librarian

Bibliographies:

• Environmental Justice (Oxford Bibliographies, 2013)
• Environmental Justice and Indigeneity (Oxford Bibliographies, 2021)
• Reparations (Oxford Bibliographies, 2017)
• Transitional Justice (Oxford Bibliographies, 2016)

Finding Books (via Library of Congress Subject Headings):

Search UNC/TRLN catalog AND WorldCat.

• Reparations for historical injustices
• Environmental justice
• Restorative justice
• Reconciliation—Social aspects
• Reconciliation—Political aspects
• Postcolonialism
• [Country/region]--Colonial influence
• Climatic changes--Social aspects
• Human geography—Environmental aspects
• Human beings—Effects of environment on

Finding Books (via Library of Congress Subject Headings):

Search UNC/TRLN catalog AND WorldCat.

• Women—Korea (South)
• Women—Korea (South)—Social conditions
• Women in the labor movement – Korea (South)
• Women—Political activity—Korea (South)
• Women and democracy—Korea (South)
• Feminism—Korea (South)
• Women's rights—Korea (South)
• Sex role—Korea (South)

Librarians:

• Kristan Shawgo, Women's and Gender Studies Librarian

Finding Books (via Library of Congress Subject Headings):

Search UNC/TRLN catalog AND WorldCat.

• Antisemitism—France
• Islamophobia—France
• Jews—France—Social conditions
• Muslims—France—Social conditions
• France—Ethnic relations
• Right-wing extremists—France
• Populism—France
• Right and left (Political science)
• Conservatism--France
• Fascism -- France
• Front national (France : 1972-)

Librarians:

• Joanneke Fleischauer, African and European Studies Librarian
• Rustin Zarkar, Middle East and Islamic Studies Librarian

Bibliographies:

• Hunger and food shortages (Oxford Bibliographies, 2021)
• Geography of food (Oxford Bibliographies, 2019)
• Food security (Oxford Bibliographies, 2016)
• Food security and food banks (Oxford Bibliographies, 2011)

Finding Books (via Library of Congress Subject Headings):

Search UNC/TRLN catalog AND WorldCat.

• Food sovereignty--[Country/region]
• Food security--[Country/region]
• Food supply
• Food supply—International cooperation
• Food supply—Social aspects
• Food relief
• Food—Economic aspects
• Agriculture—Economic aspects
• Agriculture and state
• [People]--Food, e.g. Indigenous peoples of Mexico--Food
• Hunger
• Famines
• Decolonization
• Capitalism

Librarians:

• Teresa Chapa, Latin American and Indigenous Studies Librarian

Olympic Games: A Global History (Guide for HIST 220)

Finding Books (via Library of Congress Subject Headings):

Search UNC/TRLN catalog AND WorldCat.

• Hosting of sports events—Economic aspects
• Hosting of sports events—Social aspects
• Hosting of sports events—Political aspects
• Olympics—Economic aspects
• Olympics—Social aspects
• Olympics—Political aspects
• Olympics—Planning
• Olympics—Corrupt practices
• Sports and state
• Sports and state—Cross-cultural studies

subject headings for specific Olympic Games, e.g. Olympic Games (30th : 2012 : London, England)

Librarians:

• Teresa Chapa, Latin American and Indigenous Studies Librarian

Finding Books (via Library of Congress Subject Headings):

Search UNC/TRLN catalog AND WorldCat.

• Rape as a weapon of war
• Rape
• Rape—Political aspects
• [Name of War]--Atrocities, e.g. Yugoslav War, 1991-1995--Atrocities
• Women—Crimes against
• Women—Violence against
• War Crimes
• Sex crimes
• Rape victims
• Soldiers—Sexual behavior
• Women and war
• Ukraine Conflict, 2014-

Librarians:

• Kristan Shawgo, Women's and Gender Studies Librarian
• Kirill Tolpygo, Slavic, Eurasian & East European Studies Librarian