Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

AAAD 89.001 Afro-Latinxs in the U.S.: Articles

Selected Latinx Journals

Latino Studies- "Explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States."

CENTRO Journal- "The leading peer-reviewed academic journal dedicated entirely to to the field of Puerto Rican Studies."

Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies- "An interdisciplinary, international, and peer-reviewed journal housed in the Office of Latino/Latin AmericanStudies (OLLAS) at the University of Nebraska at Omaha."

MELUS- MELUS features articles, interviews, and reviews encompassing the multi-ethnic scope of American literature past and present.

Label Me Latina/o- An online, refereed international e-journal that focuses on Latino literary production in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

PALARA: Publication of the Afro-Latin/American Research Association

Articles+

General Databases

Academic Search Premier
Find information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Indexing, 1975-present; Full-text, 1975-present
Google Scholar
Enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
JSTOR
Provides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. Excludes most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
Project Muse
Provides access to important university press and other scholarly publisher e-journals mainly in the humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies
Proquest Central
A general reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. North Carolina residents with a borrower's card may access from off campus by visiting NCLive directly. Contact the Davis Library Service Desk for the NCLive password (instructions).
Language: Various

Selected Databases

African American Migration Experience
This collection, containing full-text, "presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds." (publisher website). Thirteen migrations are detailed, including the transatlantic slave trade, the domestic slave trade, the "Great Migration" (within the United States), and Caribbean migration.
Access: No restrictions.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1960 - present
GenderWatch
Full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: mid 1970s-present
HAPI, Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Currently indexes over 380 journals and includes the contents of over 675 journals dating back to our start in the 1970s. Approximately 80% of currently indexed titles include links to full text sources - and many of those are freely available through open access policies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1970-present
Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.

Note: Limited to 6 users at a time.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1953-present
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Sociological Abstracts
Database covering over 2500 journals in sociology, both theoretical and applied, and related disciplines including anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, demography, political science, and social psychology. Articles in 30 different languages from about 55 countries.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1963-present
Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Provides data on over 35,000 slave ship voyages which forcibly carried over 10 million Africans to the Americas from the early 16th to the mid-19th centuries. You can search for particular voyages, use the African name database of 67,000 names, view and even create maps, retrieve numerical data, read explanatory essays, and find and use lesson plans.
Access: No restrictions.
Women's Studies International
Covers the core literature of the field with links to full text. An interdisciplinary database covering women's issues worldwide.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1964 -

Keywords Retated to Identity

The following terms maybe useful with your article searches:

African Americans, African American Studies and Black Diaspora, Blackness studies, Blacks, Chicanx and Latinx Studies, comparative analysis, cultural differences, cultural identity, discrimination, ethnic identity, ethnicity, family environment, feminism, gender and sexuality, Hispanics, Hispanic Americans, identity, identity formation, Latin American cultural groups, Latino, multiracial persons, race/ethnicity, racial Identification, racial identity, racial/ethnic, racism, sexuality, sexism, social justice, and women's studies,