ENGL 105 (Mariconti): Searching for Resources
Searching Library Resources
Starting Your Search
Using some of the keywords you have come up with, try searching the library’s website for suitable resources.
You can search Articles + AND the library’s catalog through our website here: https://library.unc.edu/
You can find links to individual databases that may be helpful on the E-Research by Discipline page of our website
Questions to consider as you search:
- What material are you finding?
- Did you need to refine keywords?
- Did you adjust any facets/toggles to refine your search results?
- Can you click through and explore an item?
- Can you download the item or find a stable link to it?
- Can you search within the item?
- Does it lead to other items you may find useful?
If you find anything interesting or relevant,make a note and we will share with the group.
Questions to consider:
- What made this item worth paying attention to?
- How is it relevant to your research topic?
Frequently Used Databases
- Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
- Google ScholarEnables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- PubMedDatabase of biomedical literature from the National Library of Medicine covering journal articles about medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, biology and public health from 1950 to the present; multiple mobile apps available, provides access to MEDLINE, etc. Includes links to full text of UNC-CH's electronic journal subscriptions.
- Semantic ScholarCovers scientific literature which utilizes artificial intelligence to enhance its search capabilities. Includes millions of papers from all fields of science published in academic journals, university presses, and scholarly societies from around the world.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL Plus with Full Text is a collection of more than 770 full text nursing & allied health journals dating as far back as 1937, with bibliographic indexing for more than 5,000 additional nursing and related journals. Also included are select health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
- PsycInfoDatabase from the American Psychological Association covering the academic research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines (medicine, education, social work, etc.) from over 60 countries in more than 29 languages. It provides indexes to journals, dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents from 1887 to the present.
- ScopusA large citation and abstracting database providing comprehensive coverage of the peer-reviewed journal and conference literature, with links to full-text where available through the library; includes scientific, technical, medical, social science and arts and humanities disciplines and indexes over 20,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers including over 340 book series. Like Web of Science, Scopus allows researchers to perform citation searches to see how many times a work has been cited, by whom, and to rank searches by times cited, for the period 1996 -present, as well as its curated index of over 375 scientific web pages and over 24 million patents.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the material you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Connect with us
