ENGL 105 (Mariconti): Citation Help
Why do researchers cite?
Scholarship is a conversation and scholars use citations not only to give credit to original creators and thinkers, but also to add strength and authority to their own work. By citing their sources, scholars are placing their work in a specific context to show where they “fit” within the larger conversation. Citations are also a great way to leave a trail intended to help others who may want to explore the conversation or use the sources in their own work.
In short, citations
(1) give credit
(2) add strength and authority to your work
(3) place your work in a specific context
(4) leave a trail for other scholars
(University Libraries, University of Washington. Citation Styles & Tools. Retrieved February 24, 2021, from https://guides.lib.uw.edu/research/citations/citation-basics)
Helpful links
- Ulrichs Web OnlineUlrich's Periodicals Directory is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. ULRICHSWEB.com is updated weekly and contains search and browse indexes--such as language and frequency--that are not found in the print version. In addition ULRICHSWEB.com links users to related serials for alternate titles and alternate media formats and contains tens of thousands of URLs and e-mail addresses for links to journals and publishers. ULRICHSWEB.com gives users access to serials information beyond the title level, with links to tables of contents, article abstracts, journal full-text, and document delivery.
Note: Users will need to register for a free individual account to take advantage of the full functionality of this resource.
Citing
CSE
Direct link to library guide to CSE
A list of journal titles and their abbreviations may be found at ISI Web of Science.
Get Help!
