SPAN 301H-001 Introduction to Literary and Cultural Analysis: Finding Books
Related Search Terms
These KEYWORDS may be useful as you get started with your searches:
identity spanish-language juvenile
country name + children's literature /country name + juvenile literature
These SUBJECT HEADINGS may be of use to you:
Spanish language materials -- Juvenile fiction
Spanish language materials -- Spanish language materialsBilingual -- Juvenile
Children's literature, SpanishChildren's literature, Spanish -- Bibliography
Children's literature, Peruvian (or substitute another country)
Hispanic AmericansHispanic America -- Juvenile literature -- Bibliography
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the article, book, or report you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Suggest a Title
You can request a title for purchase here:
https://library.unc.edu/services/titlerequest/
You can also email me directly with your request at tchapa@unc.edu.
Children's/Juvenile Literature at UNC
The majority of our children's literature is housed in the School of Information and Library Science (SILS) Library in Manning Hall. The collection in the SILS library is typically classified under J for general juvenile and JE for easy juvenile.
"The juvenile collection (Dewey Decimal classification), designed to support courses in children's literature, school librarianship, and children's librarianship in public libraries, consists of the Easy collection, juvenile fiction, juvenile non-fiction, juvenile historical (non-circulating), pop-up books, and audio-visual materials. This collection is designed for support of courses taught in the School of Information and Library Science and in the School of Education." (SILS website)
The children's books held in Davis Library are primarily in indigenous languages and are designed to support language acquisition in these languages. They are classified with the Library of Congress classification system.
Searching UNC's catalog
Use the concepts you've identified as relevant to your topic as keywords and phrases to start searching for information. For example, you can conduct a keyword search with the terms, "latinx," "children's" and "fiction."
When you review the results, you may find a title of interest. For example, you may want to take a closer look at the title Nerds, Goths, Geeks and Freaks :Outsiders in Chicanx and Latinx Young Adult Literature.
In this record you will also find the subject headings that were used to catalog this title. This may lead you to other related titles. Note, for example that "Latinx" is not the subject heading term used.
Children's/Juvenile Literature at Chapel Hill Public Library
A keyword search with the phrase "children's spanish language" will provide you with hundreds of results.
Once you have the results of your search, you can refine them by selecting "language" and "region" among other options.
You can also browse the actual collection in the library in the JSPANISH area.
Reference Sources
-
The Routledge Companion to Latino/a Literature
by
ISBN: 9780415666060Publication Date: 2012-08-27Latino/a literature is one of the fastest developing fields in the discipline of literary studies. It represents an identity that is characterized by fluidity and diversity, often explored through divisions formed by language, race, gender, sexuality, and immigration. The Routledge Companion to Latino/a Literature presents over forty essays by leading and emerging international scholars of Latino/a literature and analyses: Regional, cultural and sexual identities in Latino/a literature Worldviews and traditions of Latino/a cultural creation Latino/a literature in different international contexts The impact of differing literary forms of Latino/a literature The politics of canon formation in Latino/a literature. This collection provides a map of the critical issues central to the discipline, as well as uncovering new perspectives and new directions for the development of the field. It is essential reading for anyone interested in the past, present and future of this literary culture. -
International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
by
ISBN: 9780415290531Publication Date: 2004-12-23Children's literature continues to be one of the most rapidly expanding and exciting of interdisciplinary academic studies, of interest to anyone concerned with literature, education, internationalism, childhood or culture in general. The second edition of Peter Hunt's bestselling International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature offers comprehensive coverage of the subject across the world, with substantial, accessible, articles by specialists and world-ranking experts. Almost everything is here, from advanced theory to the latest practicenbsp;- from bibliographical research to working with books and children with special needs. This edition has been expanded and includes over fifty new articles. All of the other articles have been updated, substantially revised or rewritten, or have revised bibliographies. New topics include Postcolonialism, Comparative Studies, Ancient Texts, Contemporary Children's Rhymes and Folklore, Contemporary Comics, War, Horror, Series Fiction, Film, Creative Writing, and 'Crossover' literature. The international section has been expanded to reflect world events, and now includes separate articles on countries such as the Baltic states, the Czech and Slovak Republics, Iran, Korea, Mexico and Central America, Slovenia, and Taiwan. -
Expand Your Search
From your book search results page you can expand your search to include the TRLN catalog, a searchable catalog of the holdings of Duke, UNC-CH, NCCU, NCSU libraries.