Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

PLAN 059: World's Fairs: Databases - Primary Sources

Databases with Primary Sources

Archive of Americana
A rich collection of primary source materials for in-depth study of the history of the United States. Component parts include: America’s Historical Imprints, Afro-Americana Imprints from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1535-1922, America's Historical Newspapers, African American NewspapersSeries 1, 1827-1998, Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, and African American Periodicals 1825-1995.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
ARTstor
A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Users must register for a free ARTstor account in order to view full size images and download or save content.
Black Studies Center
Major indexing and full text database for African American studies. It includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, a series of essays by leading scholars about the Black Experience; HistoryMakers, a streaming audiovisual collection of 100 oral history interviews (of 2-3 hours each and corresponding transcripts) with prominent contemporary African Americans; historical backfiles of The Chicago Defender and Daily Defender; the International Index to Black Periodicals, which covers scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, including full text for many titles; and Black Literature Index, which contains bibliographic citations for fiction, poetry and literary reviews published in black periodicals and newspapers between 1827-1940.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Black Thought and Culture
A landmark electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major black leaders in North America. Works by teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures form the corpus. Unlike their white counterparts, black leaders have had to wrestle with the issues of their race alongside the issues of leadership in their chosen professions. They have been forced to defend positions, justify actions, correct perceptions, protest injustice, celebrate cultural achievement, and confront the agenda of a white-dominated society.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: To 1975
Leisure, Travel and Mass Culture: The History of Mass Tourism
A primary source collection dealing with the evolution of European and American working class tourism between 1850 and 1980s. Includes guidebooks and brochures, periodicals, travel agency correspondence, photographs and personal travel journals that provide insight into the expansion, accessibility and affordability of tourism for the masses and the evolution of some of the most successful travel agencies in the world.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
Provides a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. With more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives, including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories, the collection provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines. Several thousand pages of Ellis Island Oral History interviews, indexed and searchable for the first time, are included, along with thousands of political cartoons.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1840 - 1920
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Indexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.

In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1861 to present
Vogue Archive
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Women & Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Database of women's activism in American public life from 1600-2000, including published histories, records of women's organizations, books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1600 - 2000
Women's Magazine Archive
Full-text archive of scanned color cover-to-cover reproductions of Redbook, Better Homes & Gardens, Good Housekeeping, Ladies’ Home Journal, Chatelaine, Redbook, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Seventeen, Town & Country, Women's Day and Women’s International Network News which serve as records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1883-2005
World's Fairs: A Global History of Expositions
Primary source materials on over 200 World's fairs, from the Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations at the Crystal Palace in London (1851) through the 20th century, focusing on Northern European, North American, Australian and East Asian expositions.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.