HIST 063H: Water in the Middle East: Books & Articles
Finding Books
Start with a keyword search in the catalog. Once you have located a relevant item, you can look at the Subjects in the record and follow those links to find related books.
You can refine your results by using the facets on the left side of the screen. Use the "Available Online" filter to limit to materials that may be accessed remotely. Under "Resource Type" you can restrict your results to books, journals, or government documents.
Sample Subjects:
Water resources development -- Government policy -- Middle East
Water-supply -- International cooperation
You can also pair these suggested subject headings with additional keywords on specific aspects of your topic.
Note that as you type in author, titles, etc., in the catalog that suggestions will be available for you to select.
Authors: Dobrowolska, Agnieszka
Titles: Water management in Islam
Subjects: Water-supply -- Middle East
Keywords: Public baths -- Syria
Recommended Databases
-
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969"This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict."
-
Historical AbstractsCovers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada) and indexes nearly 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
Note: Limited to 6 users at a time. -
Worldwide Political Science AbstractsProvides indexing and abstracts of the international journal literature in political science and related fields, including public administration and policy, law, and international relations.
-
Ethnic NewsWatchA full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
-
Index to Jewish PeriodicalsIndex to Jewish Periodicals provides links to articles that focus on the study of Jewish affairs and Judaism around the world, including Jewish culture, history, literature, religion.
Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the material you need at our library? You can request it from another library through interlibrary loan.
Subject Specific Databases
-
UNC databases for HistoryA collection of databases that cover general history. (See E-Research by Discipline for specific areas of focus within History)
-
E-Research by DisciplineSelect a subject area from this list to find the top resources for each discipline.
Article Databases
-
Academic Search PremierFind information on academic areas of business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multi-cultural topics; resource provides access to major popular and scholarly journals with many full-text articles.
-
Articles PlusIndex to hundreds of millions electronic resources, including journal and newspaper articles, e-books, dissertations, and media in campus library collections.
-
JSTORProvides an image archive of important scholarly journal literature in nearly all the humanities and social sciences disciplines, international and foreign areas studies, and many of the sciences. UNC patrons have access to extensive retrospective holdings of hundreds of journals, starting with the first issues. Excludes the most recent 2-5 years of currently available journals.
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalIndexes US dissertations from 1861 with full text available from 1997; masters theses covered selectively including some full text. Citations for dissertations from 1980 include 350-word abstracts, while masters' theses from 1988 have 150-word abstracts. Selectively covers dissertations from Great Britain and other European universities for recent years.
In addition to this database, the full text of the majority of UNC theses and dissertations from 2006, and all beginning in 2008, are freely available electronically from the UNC Library: Dissertations | Theses