Having trouble accessing government information? See the Libraries’ guide to Alternative Sources for Federal Information and Data.

HIST 248: Guerrillas and Counterinsurgencies in Latin America: Primary Sources

Park Library

Park Library is part of the Hussman School of Journalism and Media. You may find assistance with your news searches.

Current Newspaper Databases

Alt-PressWatch
Alt-Press Watch provides full text access to alternative and independent newspapers, magazines, and journals, publications which bring perspectives, insights, and opinions not often found in mainstream journalism. This product offers over 600,000 articles from over 230 publications.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1983-present
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. This collection of articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1960 - present
Factiva
*1,500+ newspapers - same-day and archival coverage of the world's most influential newspapers, including Barrons, The Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, South China Morning Post, Le Monde, Les Echos, The Guardian and New York Times. Factiva also includes local newspapers from every corner of the globe. Note(s): Please log out of this resource when finished. Please note the time out period for inactive viewing is 10 minutes.The simultaneous user limit for this resource may result in temporary delays.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: Varies. 9,000 sources are updated on the day of publication.
Language: Primarily English. Over 20 languages total.
Latin American Newsstream
Latin American Newsstream provides over 100 full text newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese from across Latin America.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: English, Spanish, Portuguese
Nexis Uni
Covers general, regional, and international news, company and financial information, legal information (including law reviews, case law and legal rulings), and other topics such as biographical information. Many files are full-text.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.

What are primary sources?

Primary sources are materials directly related to a topic by time or participation. These materials include letters, speeches, diaries, newspaper articles from the time, oral history interviews, documents, photographs, artifacts, or anything else that provides firsthand accounts about a person or event.

Search the UNC Catalog for Primary Sources

When you search the library catalog, begin with a simple keyword search to identify one or more relevant resources. Keyword terms used to find primary sources can include:

- Personal narratives	- Diaries
- Correspondence	- Letters
- Interviews	- Autobiography
- Memoirs	- Maps
- Pamphlets	- Speeches
- Sources	- Archives
- Archival Resources

Examples of keyword searches might look like:

Primary Sources Databases

ARTstor
A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Users must register for a free ARTstor account in order to view full size images and download or save content.
ArchiveGrid
Serves as a single point of entry that provides online access to descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide. Allows discovery of information about primary source materials - both personal papers and corporate records.
Access: No restrictions.
Digital National Security Archive
Contains a comprehensive set of declassified government documents and is a strong complement to the Declassified Documents Reference System. Includes collections of important primary source materials relative to U.S. foreign policy since 1945, accompanied by reference and secondary material.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1945 -
Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.
Access: No restrictions.
Coverage: 1861 - 1960
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Contains declassified material originating from many U.S. government bodies and agencies, including CIA, FBI, Justice Department, National Security Agency, State Department, and the White House. Covers major domestic and international events since the end of World War II. Note: a more complete version of this collection is available in microfiche at Davis Library.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1940s-

Images

ARTstor
A digital library of over 2 million images and media files covering the arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences with tools for teaching, research and study. See ARTstor's complete list of available collections. Anyone can browse ARTstor collections using a computer on UNC campus. In order to view full size images and download or save content, however, you must first register for an ARTstor user account. For more information, see the library's ARTstor guide.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users. Users must register for a free ARTstor account in order to view full size images and download or save content.

WikiMedia Commons
A collection of freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute.
Internet Archive Book Images
Over five million public domain images.

Audio and Visual

Finding News Stories: TV and Radio News
Research guide from Park Library at the School of Media & Journalism.
Famous Speeches in History
Hundreds of 20th century speeches from categories such as politics and government, war and diplomacy, science and technology, sports, and arts and entertainment. From the History Channel.
Internet Archive Newsreels Collection
Good source for mid-20th Century coverage.
YouTube

Retrospective Newpaper Collections

Latin American and English-language Retrospective Newspapers

Accessible Archives
Contains the full text of important American newspapers from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. They include the Pennsylvania Gazette from 1728 to 1800, which was the leading English-language newspaper of the continent. The Civil War segment has the full text of major articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and The Richmond Enquirer. The third major segment of the database contains twelve million words from several of the major African-American newspapers of the nineteenth century. The fourth segment is Godey's Lady's Book from 1830 to 1855, intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1728-1800; 1860-1865
America's Historical Newspapers
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690 to the 1920s, provides access to hundreds of thousands of newspaper issues from about 2000 newspapers from Colonial America to the Roaring Twenties. The papers were published in all 50 states and the District of Columbia.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1690-1922
Gale Primary Sources: British Library Newspapers
A collection of national, regional, and local newspapers from Britain (1732-1950) and Ireland (1797-1950), sourced from the British Library.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1, 1718-1876
Fully searchable, primary-source collection of over 130 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from twenty-two Caribbean islands. Primarily English language, but a number of Danish, French, and Spanish-language titles are included. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Various
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project," a national research effort directed by Professor Nicolás Kanellos, this digital resource is the first in a new American Ethnic Newspapers series, available within America's Historical Newspapers.
Access:Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage:1808-1980
Language:Spanish, English
Latin American Newspapers
A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Spanish, Portuguese
Latin American Newspapers II
A searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers with online access to more than 280 newspapers published between 1805 and 1922. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Language: Spanish
Times (London) Digital Archive
Digital archive (1785-2019) of the British daily national newspaper, also know as The London Times and The Times of London. Please note that online coverage of The Times after the end date in this archive is available in several sources. Click here for more details.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Available through the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database, offers over 3 million pages of full-text and full-image newspaper articles covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper, from 1851 to 2 or 3 years ago. Researchers can use the images to find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Access: Off Campus Access is available for: UNC-Chapel Hill students, faculty, and staff; UNC Hospitals employees; UNC-Chapel Hill affiliated AHEC users.
Coverage: 1851-2001